It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

 

 

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Books, books and more books. What are you reading??

Had a marvelous weekend. Great biking, great running. Found a great farm stand just down the street from my house. I’d driven past the multi-tiered sign numerous times, but hadn’t bothered to stop in. Then, after visiting another farm stand and finding it closed, my girlfriend and I decided to pay the other a visit. We drove down the gravel driveway and stopped in front a large barn surrounded by gardens, hanging flowers, and paddocks replete with fat, furry donkeys. Inside the barn, there are big refrigerators stocked with corn, peaches, jam, eggplants, and other produce. Tables overflowing with ripe tomatoes, green peppers, fresh bunches of flowers, and tiny garlic buds flank the fridges. On a small table in front there’s a glass jar to pay via the honor system. Of course we had to have a little of everything – made for some delicious meals! 🙂

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

  X-Men First Class – This graphic novel seemed appropo with the recent movie release of the same name. The illustrations are fresh and lively and make the story read with a quick energy. I’ve already put a hold on Vol 2 at the library! 🙂

 

 

 

 

  Then Came You by Jennifer Weiner – Weiner’s novels are always highly praised and this one is no different. The story centers around surrogacy and the women who’s lives are changed as a result. I’m really excited about this one!

 

 

 

 

Devil in the White City by Eric Larson – I started to read the novel form of this touted book a while ago and just couldn’t get into it. I picked up the book on CD hoping for a better outcome. 🙂 The premise of the book – a coldblooded serial killer and the Chicago World’s Fair – have called to me for quite some time. Can’t wait to drive to work tomorrow! 🙂

  1. I bet Devil In The White City is fantastic on audio! Enjoy it. Audio always works better for me on harder reads.

  2. Hi new blogger.
    Devil in the White City looks interesting.
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

    Feel free to comment too.

  3. These all look great. I’m very interested in Jennifer Weiner’s book. I read two of her previous books and love her style.

  4. I loved Then Came You too! And then, about 2/3 of the way through, I got so excited and captivated that I had to literally carry it around with me.

    As for my books in the mailbox…I won’t be reading all of those in one week! I’ll try to put GWTW in with a couple of light, short ones. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

