Werewolves of New Jersey?!?

The following is a true story. No embellishments have been added.

Two nights ago my girlfriend and I were driving home from our friend’s house. It was late, so it was dark. The absence of neighborhoods or street lights made it seem even darker once we started driving the winding road that would lead us back to our house. Only a few cars going the opposite direction passed us, so most of the time the headlights of our car were the only source of light on that particular stretch of road.

Five minutes from home we saw it.

We had just turned a bend our headlights swinging right to follow the curve of the road, when their light reflected off a moving figure crossing the road. At this point, my brain told me it was a deer because logically that’s what it should have been. What other large animal would be running across the road into the woods in the pitch black night? Right? Everything happened in a few seconds, but this is what I saw in that time – a form whose head was the height of a deer, its back was curved forward as if hunched, and it ran with the gait of a human, two legs, not four. When the headlights illuminated the thing it was brief because whatever it was ran across the road and into the woods very quickly.  I only saw the glint of an eye and light reflecting off the body I just described.

It took us until we drove past the spot where the thing had disappeared, for me to say, “What was that thing?” Let me interject here to say that while I do enjoy reading fantastical stories about vampires and werewolves and other creatures, I am fully aware of my reality and do not believe those creatures exist. Ok. I used to not believe they existed. My girlfriend on the other hand does not read anything even remotely involved fantasy or sci-fi and is even more rooted in logic and reason. But when we talked about it, we had seen the exact same thing. To the detail. There was no way this thing was a deer. Unless one had learned to walk. Like Quasimodo.

What did we see? I have no idea. What we saw shouldn’t be possible. It doesn’t fit into any realistic explanation I can think of. It does, however,  fit into a lot of books I’ve read and that’s what scares me the most.

  1. Creepy story! Perhaps it was the Jersey Devil.

    Many years ago I was driving on Route 80 in the vicinity of Patterson late at night and swear I saw people running across the road as cars drove through them. I’ve since rationalized that it was just shadows of some sort, but it does make me wonder.

  2. That’s a creepy story too! I’ve heard of the Jersey Devil but have never heard the legend behind it. I’ll have to check it out.

    • Tori
    • June 3rd, 2010

    Good idea Alissa! Does the Jersey Devil run somewhat like a human only with a hunched back and larger stride? Orrrr, are they just bad ice hockey players? I need to do some research!

    • Angee
    • June 9th, 2011

    Where did you see this creature? And I think its a werewolf not the Jersey Devil they don’t have much similarities.

    • I saw it in Central Jersey running into the woods. And you may be right, Angee. It all happened so fast it was hard to truly tell what it was. 🙂

    • Emily
    • August 21st, 2011

    Did you see what color eyes it had and how fast was it running

    • It had black eyes although they seemed to glow from the headlights of the car and it was running very fast, although not too fast so I was able to catch a glimpse of it before it ran into the woods.

    • Sophie
    • March 10th, 2012

    Where exactly did you see this creature in Central Jersey?I mean what county?Which area?

    • A back road in Somerset County. Whatever it was ran from what looked like an empty field across the road and disappeared into a copse of trees.

        • Babylon
        • April 7th, 2013

        I live in Somerset County as well. There are a lot of woods behind our house, and I sometimes get the distinct feeling of something watching through the windows from the back yard. Makes the tiny hairs of the back of my neck stand on end. New Jersey may be highly populated, but there is a definite eerie vibe here.

    • Sophie
    • March 10th, 2012

    hmm Thank you.It’s Interesting…I live in New Jersey and first I wasn’t believing in these things but now I do somehow…I feel like they do exist here in NJ…I have also seen similar creature like this so……..

    • Jessica
    • November 24th, 2013

    In 2009, in Marlton, NJ I was looking out my upstairs window late at night. I was going through a divorce at the time and was looking out for when the (ex) would be coming home which was usually 1 or 2 in the morning. I will never forget seeing what appeared to look like a dog walking along my street. There were street lights so it was pretty clear. I’m very familiar with the gait of a dog or a stray dog gait but what I saw this night was odd to me. I saw a rather large, gray, long coated dog walking down my street. Walking very calmly, not like a regular dog because to me the gait was too slow and calm. I did not get a good look at the face but I remember I ran downstairs and out my front door to get a better look. I saw it cross the street and continue on. I will never forget this. I have since looked up wolves online and I know what they look like but this night it was different, it did not fit the traditional image of a wolf. I don’t believe in werewolves but there was something odd this night,

    • Damian
    • March 27th, 2015

    I am an elder I am living in New Jersey and I can confirm that werewolves do exist..I am NOT going to lie to you and say that shapeshifting is common because anyone who tells you that it’s full of fantasies. At the same time I am NOT going to deny that he hasn’t occurred in what is known as folklore. however, I can only a test to my own personal experiences and I have not personally encountered anyone quite like myself. how do I know that… With some pretty simple and obvious occurrences that happened to me and I don’t mean on the full moon of every month. my shifts occur when I am in my, what is known as, my lunar cycle..everybody has a lunar cycleand everyone’s is different to their own specificity.

    I will cut to the chase, my cravings are around me and I don’t mean necessarily the quadrapedal kind..if you get my drift.

    If there is anyone out there at all that is truly seriously that the leaves they are werewolf or werewolf lite feel free to contact me and I will be glad to discuss with you and perhaps set up a meet up group.

    Before I go from this site I just want you to know that I am NOT in any way fabricating or delusional about my own existence and what I am.. you can either believe me or not, personally I don’t really care I’m just on here trying to find those who are like me..

    Email t j s i a n o 1 2 5 8 a t t g m a i l d o t c o m

    • Jenna
    • February 5th, 2016

    wow im not the only one who thinks we have werewolfs in new jersey

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment