It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s that time again! It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? hosted by Sheila and her blog One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books.

This week I found an amazing YA lit blog called Mundie Moms that directed me to some delicious YA novels. Most are from new authors and have been very inspirational in the writing of my own YA novel. I do tend to lean toward fantasy YA lit as that is the genre in which I am writing, but I also appreciate any lit that is well-crafted. I have learned a lot from these authors, their blogs and blogs that they like. These are wonderful resources for any author providing forums for book discussions as well a platform for book reviews  – helpful to authors and readers alike! I would recommend checking out the websites of your favorite authors as they often offer helpful suggestions to writers as well as links to other great blogs and resources for the literature lover.

Meridian by Amber Kizer – The only problem I have with this book is that it was over way too soon! Kizer pulled me in to her story with an intriguing plot – protagonist is half angel, I won’t give the rest away – and wonderful tensions and mysteries. Meridian showcases what it’s like to be different and have society turn on you because of those differences. A must read for any YA lit lover!

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan – I just started this book and already I don’t want it to end. The plot centers around a young girl who’s entire existence has been spent in a village run by the Sisterhood – a rigid group of God-fearing women – and the Guardians – protectors of the village. Ryan wastes no time throwing her readers into the gut-wretching emotions that Mary, the protagonist, experiences in the first few chapters. All her life she’s been protected by these seeming benevolent leaders from what lays outside the fence, but nothing is ever what it seems. This story will wrap you up and leave you breathless and wanting more.

Stay tuned for more reviews and the exciting journey of writing my first YA novel! 🙂

    • alissagrosso
    • March 1st, 2010

    I like the new look! The Forest of Hands and Teeth sounds like a good one. I think it’s already on my list of books to read.

    • I finished it today. Definitely a must read! It totally leaves you hanging, but fortunately Carrie Ryan is coming out with her next in the series in 8 days. 🙂

  1. Meridian has a fantastic cover! I also have the Forst of hands and Teeth. Have a super weekend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

