It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

I had an amazing weekend. The weather was absolutely gorgeous, so I took full advantage of it by driving up to Storm King in the Hudson River Valley, NY. If you are ever around the NY area and want to see something incredible, head to Storm King. It’s a beautiful sculpture park set on acres and acres of perfectly landscaped hills and trees. Massive sculptures by artists like Richard Serra, Maya Lin, Andy Goldsworthy, and Alexander Calder dot the land, rising up like bandersnatches of metal and rock. Absolutely breathtaking. I’ll post some pics tomorrow of its grandeur. 😀

My reading week has been no less grand. I’m on an excellent book streak that I hope continues for a long time!

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

  The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Ever since I saw the undulating widgets counting down to the release of Hodkin’s debut YA novel, I’ve been entranced. So of course as soon as I could get my hands on a copy I snatched it up and gobbled it down. And I’m still entranced! Hodkin’s has a brilliant way of spinning on tale of intrigue yet believability.  And while there is romance, I appreciated that it didn’t overshadow the wonderful mystery that surrounded Mara. And I also loved how Mara’s family made her character even more well-rounded, adding to the story instead of being a nuisance to the heroine’s quest like in some other books I’ve read. Mara Dyer is a definite must-read!

 

  Echo by Terry Moore – I love, love, love Terry Moore. I think he is one of the most brilliant graphic novelist ever. His Strangers in Paradise series is one of my favorites. His Echo series is turning out to be just as amazing. After a horrific accident, Julie finds herself in possession of powers beyond her understanding. Filled with government secrets, heartless villains, and likable heroes and heroines, Echo should be read by everyone who loves a great story and gorgeous illustrations.

 

 

  Machine Man by Max Barry – I love the idea of this book. Man has a limb-losing accident, man, already obsessed with technology, builds himself some new limbs to become a bigger, better version of his old self. But it’s not all roses and butterflies when others begin to view him not as a man but as something more sinister.

 

 

 

  50/50 by Dean Karnazes – Karnazes is one of the most impressive long distance, ultra, runners in the world. He has inspired millions through his previous Ultramarathon Man book, his blog on Runner’s World, and his outspoken candor on running. His latest book and documentary on running 50 marathons in 50 states in 50 days. I’m listening to Dean read this book on CD and I find it interesting how much he loves to run. It gives him energy and keeps him sane even in the midst of the chaos that surrounds his quest to run his latest challenge.

 

 

Hope your reading week is as good as mine! Happy reading! 😀

  1. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer sounds like a good one! Enjoy your week, and thanks for stopping by my blog.

    I like the sound of the sculpture park!

  2. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer sounds great! I’m going to add it to my tbr list. Happy reading and have a great week.

  3. I feel like the only person left to read Mara Dyer! 😀

  4. I keep hearing about the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I guess I am going to have to read this one.

  5. I’m not familiar with any of these books. Will have to look into them.

    Stop by my It’s Monday post if you get a chance.

  6. I’m reading The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer right now.

    Machine Man looks interesting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment