It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

This weekend was busier than usual with me running around to see family, drop my girlfriend off before the crack of dawn at the start of her MS City to Shore bike ride, and meeting her at the finish line in Ocean City, NJ. She finished the ride with flying colors and chatted the rest of the day about how wonderful the volunteers and her experience were. Fortunately, the predicted rain held off and she finished in six hours which included stopping at every rest stop along the route. It was great to switch roles as I supported her athletic endeavors as she always does for mine. And she finally understood the glow that accompanies the aftermath of such a physical undertaking. It made me want to join her next time! 🙂

In other news – Happy Banned Books Week! I’ll be posting on Twenty Boy Summer this Wednesday in conjunction with Book Journey’s Banned Book celebration. Be sure to tune in on Wednesday as I’ll have a special giveaway to celebrate the freedom of reading! 😀

Here’s what I’ve been reading this week:

  How Starbucks Saved My Life by Michael Gates Gill – I’m listening to this memoir on CD (not read by the author) and am really enjoying it. It’s a little too happy-sunshine for me, but Gill has a great perspective on lessons he learned later in life. Fired from an affluent job he held the majority of his life, Gill finds himself floundering for a new purpose. That’s when he is found by Crystal, a Starbucks manager who takes a chance on Gill that changes his life for the better. This memoir is definitely worth reading as it provides a great illustration on how sometimes we may be distracted by things that are fleeting instead of finding happiness in the moments of life.

 

 

  In the Small Kitchen by Cara Eisenpress and Phoebe Lapine – Another fun cookbook with great illustrations. The authors provide their life experience in the form of recipes that reflect a good range of dietary options, budgets, and fanfare. Plus, the colorful anecdotes make it a fun read as well!

 

 

 

 

  Every Thing On It by Shel Silverstein – A compilation of Silverstein’s poems and illustrations published posthumusly by his family. Growing up with the whimsical books of Silverstein, I had to pick up a copy, eager to read more of his works. Perfect to read anytime. 🙂

 

 

 

 

That’s all she wrote…er, read. Tune in Wednesday for more fun, reading, and entertainment! 🙂

  1. It did end up being a good weekend for biking, a little humid but it wasn’t raining or too hot.

    I enjoy memoirs, can’t wait for your Starbucks review…. this is a new title for me.

    Have a wonderful week!

  2. Congrats to your friend on her successful completion of the ride! It’s wonderful that you can provide mutual support in sport/charity (sportity? chort?) 🙂

    I finished reading The Giver and The Replacement last week.

    This week’s slate includes The Girl Who Circumvented Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, House of Stairs, and The Monstrumologist (if the patron who current has it checked out, would be so good as to check it back in). I’m 15th on the waiting list for Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children, so alas, that one may have to wait awhile.

    Hope you have a happy week, and I look forward to seeing you soon at this month’s meeting.

  3. I like Silverstein as a kid. I should check him out again.

  4. Sounds like you had a great week. Hope you enjoy this one.

    How Starbucks Saved My Life sounds intriguing….

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. I think I’ll have to hunt down a copy of Every Thing on It. I was a huge Silverstein fan as a kid, and would memorize his poems for fun. Yes, I was also a huge dork.

    Oh, and very impressed by the bike ride!

  6. I enjoyed the Starbucks book, too. I found it an interesting memoir.

  7. That Starbucks book sounds interesting!

  8. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier! I am excited that we will be posting for Banned Book Week on the same day. I will definitely check out your review.
    That Silverstein book looks really good….hmm…:)

  9. Oh a cookbook – I love cookbooks! I keep meaning to review some of mine, but it would need some extensive testing 😉 Have a good week!

  10. I enjoy Shel Silverstein. He gives me that warm, childhood feeling when I read him.

  11. I loved your blog, is so pretty!!

    Happy Reading!

    Psique @ Book Travels

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment