It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by the lovely Sheila @ Book Journey. Stop by and see what all the fuss is about! 🙂

I figured I should write my Monday post early in case Hurricane Irene decides to knock our power out. It already winked out for a little but is back on. Hopefully it will stay on! Irene has caused a lot of chaos these past few days and probably will continue to until she dissipates somewhere over the Eastern part of the U.S. But it’s better to be overly prepared and safe then to witness the wreckage that hurricanes can cause. It’s been wild that’s for sure! We’re still getting a torrential downpour and now there are tornado warnings! This is all on top of an earthquake that was felt by at least five states on the East Coast a few days ago – crazy!!!

In preparation for the storm, I stocked up on some great books and magazines. Here’s what I’ve been reading:

  Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore – I’m a big fan of Clement-Moore’s Maggie Quinn: Girl v. Evil books, so I was excited when I heard about this latest release by the author. Although it follows a different heroine, Texas Gothic is filled with the same things I loved about the Girl v. Evil series – sarcastic exchanges, flawed characters, and intriguing mysteries. Set in Texas, the story follows a family blessed with the gift of spells, psychic connections, and mystic powers as a young college girl, Amy, learns to accept who she is while solving the mystery of the Mad Monk, a ghostly power that’s been causing havoc around a neighboring ranch. A perfect book to read while a big storm rages outside!

 

 

  Essential Guide to Getting Your Book Published by Arielle Eckstut and David Henry Sterry – I mentioned this book in my post a couple days ago and am busy enjoying all the helpful tips the authors provide. While I’ve done a lot of reading and research in regards to writing and publishing a novel, I hadn’t read this guide. The authors, known as The Book Doctors, help people realize their publishing dreams through talks, one-on-one guided sessions, and Pitchapalooza events. Always interested in making myself a better writer and learning more about the trade, this is the ideal book!

 

 

  Rail-Trails: Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York – I discovered rails to trails a couple years ago and have been hooked ever since. These converted railways make for ideal trails because they don’t have motorized traffic, they’re shaded, and they stretch for miles and miles. I usually run or bike these trails and wrote about the Columbia Trail where I usually go on my long Sunday runs this time last year. It’s especially nice because the trails are very flat and make for a perfect place for my longer runs and a welcome change from my hilly neighborhood where I run during the week. While this book showcases the trails in the tri-state area, I know there are rail-trails around the country with books highlighting different areas or you can hop over to the website: Rails-to-Trails.

 

 

Have a great reading week! 😀

  1. Hope your power stays on and you escape any bad effects of the hurricane.

    Texas Gothic looks like a good one! Thanks for sharing….

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. I love Rails to Trails too because they are flat!

    Mine is at http://www.spiritblog.net/?p=3561.

  3. We live in NJ as well – we just got our power back at midnight. Hope you stayed safe through the storm!
    Lindsey
    http://literarylindsey.blogspot.com/2011/08/its-monday-and-sun-is-out.html

    • Glad you got your power back on. A lot of people I know are still without! Not fun…I think I was one of the fortunate ones who kept their power the whole time.

  4. You’ve been lucky not going without power. I hope you still managed to do a fair bit of reading? Have a good week this week.

  5. Hope you’ve still got your power. Have a fab week! See what I’m reading here.
    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

  6. Texas Gothic looks intriguing.

    I’m reading Karsten Knight’s Wildefire.

    I hope nothing happens to your power. That storm looked huge on the map. I hope you’re no longer in its way.

  7. “Texas Gothic” looks interesting 😀 Have a wonderful week 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment