It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by the wonderful Sheila over @ Book Journey. To see what others are reading, stop by her blog and check out the fun posts! πŸ™‚

This week was good and bad. I caught the dreaded flu that’s been circulating through the library but am fortunately feeling much, much better. Not a fun time! I started my personal training regime (more on this in another post) which has me running more now that my injuries are finally manageable. Hopefully, I’ve learned my lesson and will take things slow so as to not have a relapse! Thankfully, my strength training sessions already seem to be helping and I’ve been feeling strong on my runs. Yay! πŸ™‚

Also, I finished my second novel this weekend – double yay! πŸ˜€Β  While my first novel is YA my second is MG. My next step will be to start my first round of revisions then rinse, wash and repeat until I’m happy with the finished product. Then that polished draft will wait patiently while I begin the process of querying to agents – just as I’m doing with my first novel.

Since I was mostly a lump for the past week as I recovered from my bug, I did get a lot of reading done. Some was catching up on magazines and non-fiction books on running and conditioning, but here’s what else I read this week.

Hector and the Search for Happiness by Francois Lelord – This petite novel is well worth a read. Although I didn’t find it as deep and philosophically moving as Life of Pi and The Alchemist, I think it raises some interesting issues and makes for a provocative read. Hector is a psychiatrist who after years of helping others and listening to their problems decides he needs to travel around the world on a happiness quest. On the way he gets involved in different scenarios and meets different people who he engages in finding answers to his quest. I’m still mulling over some of the conclusions that Hector (ie. Lelord) draws, which is always the sign of a book worth reading.

 

 

The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger – While this book resembles a children’s picture book, it is actually a graphic novel. This is the first time I’ve read Niffenegger who also wrote The Time Traveler’s Wife. I’m still debating whether or not I like this book. But the fact that I’m still contemplating the meaning behind Niffenegger’s story shows me that even if I didn’t like it, it made me think which, once again, I appreciate. The protagonist is a young woman who discovers a bookmobile during a late night walk in Chicago. It is complete with everything she has ever read, although she can’t check out these items. The mystery deepens from there, but I won’t say any more so as not to spoil the tale. If you do read it I would love to hear your thoughts on what you think the meaning behind the story is or if there is a deeper meaning at all.

Ultra Marathon Man by Dean Karnazes – I am loving this book! Karnazes was on the brink of destroying his marriage and drowning in the meaninglessness of his job. Instead of giving up or turning to more toxic outlets, Karnazes turns to a love he had as a youth – running. Before long his obsessiveness and passion for running shape his life and begin to define who he is as a man and, more importantly, the man he wants to be. While centered around running, this book can appeal to anyone who has a passion or seeks that sense of fulfillment from life. Karnazes doesn’t turn away from his life but embraces it to the fullest. (P.s. An ultra marathon is anything longer than a marathon and is often seen as the ultimate test of endurance.)

 

 

That’s it for me this week! What about you what have you been reading?

  1. The NIffenegger book is new to me, but maybe not worth it. I loved The Timetraveler’s Wife but found Her Fearless Symmetry not quite as good.

    How good that you’ve (almost) finished two novels! I’m so impressed. I’m working on my first, but am not even sure whether to take it seriously, because it’s pretty… hard to do and I’m not sure I’m going to get anywhere with it. So, well done.

  2. I think Dean Karnazes must be crazy but I’d like to read the book. LOL

  3. I haven’t read anything by Niffenegger…yet. The Bookmobile sounds like it has an appealing story line.

    Congrats on your writing progress. I like the expression “rinse, wash and repeat,” which pretty much describes that process! Good luck!

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Sorry to hear you were sick, but glad you are feeling better. Also way to go on finishing up your novel!

    I’ve seen the Night Bookmobile before, and been intrigued and I think after your review I need to get my hands on a copy to see what it’s all about. This week’s read for me was an advance copy of Illegal by Bettina Restrepo – a great YA book by a fellow 2K11er.

    • I love book recs – I’ll have to pick that one up when it’s released.

  5. OMG… obviously you won’t be surprised to discovery Ultra Marathon Man is one of my most favorite books. I just ran my first ultra 2 days ago!

    This book is so motivating. Have you read the part where he sleeps while running?

    Have a great week!

    • Wow, Mari! I’m so impressed – congrats on your first ultra! πŸ™‚

  6. Glad you are feeling better! The Night Bookmobile is one a friend of mine just recommended to me. She said it really left you with some great questions.

    • If you find out what those questions are please let me know! I’m still a bit confused. πŸ™‚

  7. This is so crazy but I never thought about getting fitness related books from the library! I just checked out a bunch of triathlon books & am filing Ultramarathon Man away – sounds like an amazing story!

  8. I didn’t know that Niffeneger has a graphic novel. I have to admit that just what you said makes it sound a bit intriguing.

  9. Ultra Marathon Man by Dean Karnazes is a great example of finding books to read from visiting other blogs!

  10. Graphic novel by Neffenegger?? I’m intrigued!

  11. Graphic novels often confuse me. I think I’ll skip this one–thanks! Hector searching for happiness might work for me, though.

  12. I haven’t read graphic novels yet.

    I’m reading Richelle Mead’s Frostbite and Sarah Stevenson’s Latte Rebellion,.

  13. I thought I commented but maybe more than one person is reading Ultra Marathon Man this week (that would surpise me). How I love this book. You should see my copy – It’s always visible in my house… for motivation.

    Have a great week!

  14. Good day, MY PARTNER AND I consider you, should you arrived at Romania you’ve got a beer out of myself: ) Many thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment