It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a great meme hosted by Sheila @ BookJourney. Stop by and tell us what you’re reading!

I just came back from a wonderful weekend in upstate NY where the leaves are turning gorgeous shades of reds and oranges and yellows. The grass was verdant from the recent rains the East Coast has been getting and the skies were a brilliant blue.

It was chillllly, but so beautiful. My girlfriend and I went with some friends of ours and got to walk around Cooperstown and visit Doubleday Field – the home of baseball. I even found a flat penny machine that printed a picture of the historic stadium – sweet!

My favorite stop was the Ommegang brewery where they were having a great festival with food, an awesome band, and even a puppet show. We went on a great tour of the brewery – I love going on brewery tours – and were able to have free tastings of all their finest brews at its conclusion.

Afterward, we all sat in the sun sipping on our brews and noshing on waffles (yes, waffles, and they were amazing!) and wood-fired pizzas. It was the perfect day. 🙂

But I digress…

This week in the reading world I picked up some great new reads. 🙂

The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi – From the creator of The Spiderwick Chronicles comes another incredible tale of mythical proportion. I’m really looking forward to this novel as DiTerlizzi is not only an amazingly talented and imaginative writer, but incredible artist as well. WondLa features many of his sketches including some two page spreads. And, as if that weren’t enough to capture your attention, if you have a webcam at your disposal, you can hold some of the sketches up to the webcam to gain further information on the protagonist, Eva Nine and her world. So cool! It really is amazing how books are melding with technology these days. It reminds me of the book I always coveted as a child that Penny, Inspector Gadget’s niece, owned to help solve all sorts of dilemmas in the cartoon.

Candy Girl by Diablo Cody – I’m a big fan of memoirs. Especially ones that are filled with quips and snarky comments throughout. This memoir was written by Cody before her rise to fame as the writer of the Juno screenplay and, although I’m only a few chapters deep, looks to be an interesting read. Cody drives to Minnesota for a guy where she decides to shed her stay-at-home and play Scrabble persona and tries her hand at stripping for a year. Now, I’m not at the point yet where she reveals how stripped she gets, and I think how she handles this documentation of her experience will make or break the book for me. I’m hoping it’s not graphic as I’m not a fan of that profession as I feel it’s degrading to women (personal opinion, no soapbox). But I think that’s also why I will keep reading, because I enjoy reading perspectives that are different of my own, thus gaining a more rounded view of the world.

I’m still plugging away at some of the books I posted last week, so that’s all the new books I’m reading for now.

What are you reading this week??

  1. I love the webcam idea.

  2. Looks like you had a fantastic weekend getaway!

  3. I love Tony DiTerlizzi work. My favorite is Jimmy Zangwow’s Out-of-This-World Moon-Pie Adventure! I am looking forward to this new title.

  4. I hope you have a great week of reading 🙂

  5. The pictures are so beautiful! Sounds like you guys had a great time. Festival at a brewery sounds like so much fun. We live in the sticks and they don’t have stuff like that around here 😦
    Hope you enjoy your reads and have a great week!
    Natalie :0)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment