It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Gotta love Mondays! It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by the great and wonderful Sheila at Book Journey. Head over and check it out!

This week I’ve been started a couple new books of the urban fantasy/paranormal genre and I threw in a couple non-fiction too! I need to hurry or else I may need to postpone finishing these books because Mockingjay comes out tomorrow!! Very exciting 🙂

Labyrinth by Kat Richardson – I have been reading Richardson since she first came out with her Greywalker series. She is a great writer and I love her strong, female protagonist Harper. Readers follow Harper as she comes into her gifts and the subsequent dangerous situations they lead her into. Harper has the ability to walk into a kind of layer between realities and this not only allows her to see things differently than anyone else, but it attracts many strange cases, she’s a PI of sorts, and individuals to her. This latest novel is even more intricate than the previous and strays away from the PI bit and focuses more on Harper’s developing talents and strange occurrences that are leading her down a dangerous path. While I wish Labyrinth was less complicated and more like the earlier novels in the series, I can’t help but become deeply engrosses in this fast paced novel.

The Passage by Justin Cronin – I’ve been waiting to read this for a long time and am excited to finally have it in my possession. Cronin’s tome has been getting a lot of buzz and supposedly it’s already been optioned as a movie. I’ve only just begun, but can tell that I’m going to get lost in the world that Cronin is creating very quickly. His layers of details and descriptions of his characters and places add a tone not unlike the classics of the Brontes or Austin, with the dark depths of Dostoevsky.

Bicycle Maintenance & Repair by Todd Downs – A perfect book for anyone who loves to ride bicycles of any kind and hates to pay the hundred plus dollars it takes to get a tune up at a repair shop. Illustrations and easy to read instructions help even a beginner (ie. me) learn how to work on their bike. This is a library book, but I’m probably going to have invest in my own copy so I can refer back to it as the need arises.

Runner’s World Guide to Injury Prevention by Dagny Scott Barrios – It’s sad that I need this book, but as a runner I am constantly plagued by injuries. I need expert advice on how to not only care for injuries when they do arise, but how to prevent further injuries from happening. This book also guides runners on strength training, stretches, and training to maximize performance and decrease the likelihood of injury. Definitely the best book I’ve ever read for anyone who runs – even if you’ve never been injured!

I’m off to continue working on my second book and the synopsis for my first (oh joy) on this rainy New Jersey Monday. What have you been up to?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Looks like you’ve got some good books there… well, the 1st two anyway! 😀

  2. Good luck with The Passage — one “summer read” I am passing on…

  3. I’m very interested in The Passage.

    I’m reading Laura Wiess’s Such a Pretty Girl.

  4. I have both The Passage & the Greywalker series on my reading list 🙂 Happy reading & have a great week!!!

  5. I’m on the waiting list for The Passage at the library. With the length of the line and the book I may never actually get it.

  6. The Passage would make an incredible movie! Enjoy the book!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment