It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday again! I can’t believe August is already halfway over! Yikes! Aside from a computer malfunction that forced me to take it in for repairs and miss the live feeds of WriteOnCon (the online writer’s conference I’d been looking forward to for months), my week was great! Today, it’s time for – It’s Monday, What Are You Reading, hosted by Sheila at BookJourney.

This week I’ve had some great books to read. 🙂

Tip It by Maggie Griffin -I definitely LOLed a lot while reading this book by Maggie Griffin – mother of famous comedian and star of My Life on the D-List, Kathy Griffin. I love this show and think that Kathy Griffin is stinkin hilarious. Throughout the book Kathy inserts her own comments behind her mother’s and makes the stories even funnier. And Maggie comes across as much of a sweetheart in her book as she does on TV. And she’s so funny, although I’m not sure she’s trying to be. So if you’ve been reading a lot of heavy books about teenage angst or dystopian cultures, pick up this book!

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – I had heard a lot of positive comments regarding Mead’s well-loved vampire series, so I decided to pick the first one up and see what the buzz was about. I’m almost finished and have been pleasantly surprised. I’ve read some YA vampire novels before and have been disappointed by their lackluster characters or sappy plots and Mead had neither. Her characters are rich and round, her plots intricate but plausible, and there’s a good balance between seeing the protagonists succeed and making sure they are imperfect. I highly recommend reading the first book and I am going to have to grab the second just to find out what happens!

And I had to throw in how INCREDIBLY EXCITED I am for Suzanne Collin’s last installation of her Hunger Games trilogy, Mockingjay, to be released August 24th. Such a good series and you haven’t read the first two yet – what are you waiting for??

That’s what I’ve been reading, how about you?

  1. Somehow, reading Kathy Griffin’s mother sounds much more appealing than reading Kathy Griffin herself!

    I am the only one not “waiting” on Mockingjay — I read the 1st book and quit. Just wasn’t for me.

    Have a great week! See you next Monday!

  2. I’m not really a Kathy Griffin fan, but I do love books with lots of humor, so I might have to give Tip It a look. Hope you enjoy all your reading this week!

  3. I also can’t wait for Mockingjay! We’re in the home stretch now… 🙂

  4. I haven’t read any of the Hunger Games books yet. I keep hearing about them and they seem like something I’d like. Okay, I just paused in writing this comment to reserve it at the library. There are a gazillion other holds but I will get it someday. See, you’re a good influence on me.

  5. I just started The Hunger Games, I had it on wait list and it became available. I’ve heard such great things about it and Mockingjay is already on my TBR pile.

    You asked about Kat Richardson’s books when you were at my blog. I have Poltergeist in my reading pile. It looks good and I’ve been wanting to read it. I’ll have to nudge it up on the pile. Thanks for heads up! 🙂

    Sherri at Urban Girl Reader

  6. I started CRAZY by Han Nolan and I’m halfway through Melissa Senate’s THE MOSTS.

  7. I am Mockingjay all the way!!!! Oh I can not wait! 😀 Did you pre-order? Are we guaranteed delivery on release day? I would be devastated if it did not arrive. Maybe I need to go to B and N to make sure I have it. 😀

  8. I had a dream last week that the library had already lent out Mockingjay to everyone on the hold list… except me. I didn’t realized I was looking forward to it so much!

    Enjoy your books this week!

  9. I’ve been meaning to read Vamp Academy forever, but never seem to get around to it, so I really must remember to pick up the first book! I haven’t read the hunger games series yet, purely because I’ve been waiting for the release of mockingjay so I can read them straight through 😀 I hope you enjoy your books and have a great week! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment