Going Long

hillrunningMy goal is to run a half-marathon this fall. After my injury heals, and I’m sure it will, I plan on tackling a training plan that will get me back on the road and on my way to running a successful half. Tomorrow is my visit with the sports medicine doc where I’m hopeful that I can get the tools needed to run again. It’s not going to be an easy road, but I’m a runner. I’m strong. I’m motivated. I’ll tackle each hill one at a time until I’ve conquered them all.

Next up: finding the perfect plan to promote healthy running! 🙂

  1. Sami, good luck with your Dr’s appt. and the injury. That is no fun at all… funny I just ran my first half last week (which was an awesome experience and great workout) AND I had a very bad calf injury (tear).

    I got injured during my half training and basically I found that REST and R.I.C.E. (rest, ice, compression and elevation) helped a lot. I wore compression socks most nights to help my calf. It did. I also hydrated more and rolled/massaged the calf too. But I did not see a Dr. about it though… I also did LOTS of stretching and various yoga classes and non impact cardio (swimming and biking) and that kept me in great race shape even though I only ran 1x/week the last 2 weeks before the half. I am a BIG fan of yoga, different types, and it helps my running and leg strength so much.

    Still, I was very nervous come race day… but my half “coach” advised I go for a light run and yoga the day before and that helped me a lot! I felt so good on race morning. The half was awesome and fun… and my calf did not flare up until the last mile, so I could not push to the finish, but I still beat my goal time and it was such a great run/workout/distance. You will love it!

    You will get over this hill no problem. Be patient and persevere and R.I.C.E. I know it’s frustrating not being able to run when it’s running season and great weather. You will be fine! And you will love the half distance!!! Hope the Dr. helps you get back on your feet soon! Keep on keeping on. Take care and keep running up that hill, one step at a time.

  2. Thanks, Michael! As always I appreciate your kind words of encouragement. It’s definitely a new challenge to me to not be able the thing I love most, but I will persevere as you said and I know I’ll be running that half before long! 🙂 It sounds like you had a wonderful time both training and running your half. I’d love to read more about your experience if you decide to post it on your blog. Happy running! 🙂

  3. I am sure you will be running pretty soon… strong mind equals strong body Sam !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

