Pilates Power

PilatesEvery time I read up on great exercises I can do to improve my running and come back from my injury I come across moves that I typically do in my pilates class. The only problem is I hadn’t gone to pilates in weeks. Knowing that every week that passed that I skipped my pilates class was a missed opportunity to improve on these areas, yesterday I decided I had to go to class that evening. I threw on my workout clothes, laced up my sneakers, grabbed my mat, and headed out.

I’d forgotten how refreshing going to class was. I felt rejuvenated head-to-toe. And sore! But a good sore, letting me know the exercises were working all the right muscles. It also reminded me how much I appreciate all the camaraderie and support I find there. My instructor is wonderful. Super sweet and encouraging with such a positive energy it’s impossible not to smile even when she’s pushing us through difficult movements. My fellow pilates goers were also quick to give me words of encouragement. I’m already excited to go back. I’ll be back to running before I know it! šŸ™‚

 

  1. Sami, great post, as usual. Good luck coming back from the injury and getting back out on the road. Yeah, Pilates and Yoga help recovery so much I think, without added stress to the joints too. And yes the class camaraderie helps so much, I agree. I am combining Bikram and regular yoga now and it has helped me fight through a calf issue and run much better and lighter. Good luck on your road to recovery! Oh and happy spring, finally.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

