Spring Weather = Outdoor Fitness Fun

springbikingMy mood always improves as the weather grows warmer, the days grow longer, and the sun shines more. This means I can take full advantage of all the other outdoor activities I love. So while I continue with my strength training routines at the gym, I’m eager to bask in the sunshine. Biking, disc golfing, walks, maybe even a little pitch & putt.

Recently, my wife and I found an amazing place a short drive from our house called Duke Farms. At 2,740 it’s one of the largest areas of privately-owned undeveloped land in the state. With 18 miles of trails, paved and unpaved, it’s ideal for walks with children, biking, running, or hiking. There’s even a family of eagles you can watch or view over the farm’s Eagle Cam! Cool! You can hop on a little tram that goes around the trails if you get tired of trekking. While it’s open year-round, we visited for the first time a couple weeks ago – it was absolutely beautiful! Our family is already looking forward to our return visit. 🙂

 

  1. I find it interesting that you posted this a day after a snowstorm. Okay, it definitely was more spring-like today, which I take as a sign of good things.

    I’ve never been to Duke Farms, but always wanted to. Now, I’ll definitely have to make it over there one of these days.

  2. Haha…I didn’t even think about that. This week/end is supposed to be in the 50s, perfect for walking and hiking! 🙂

  1. April 8th, 2013

Leave a Reply

