Top Ten Strength Training Exercises for Runners

KettleBellSquatWinter is a great time to focus on the weight room, building strong muscles that will keep you from injury and help you to become a more dynamic runner.

While I’m a big proponent of pilates for strengthening muscles, especially core muscles, I also like to incorporate weights into my strength training workouts. There are many exercises that are effective in building a stronger you, but below are my:

TOP TEN STRENGTH TRAINING EXERCISES FOR RUNNERS

Goblet Squat

1001-goblet-squat-483x300

 

 

 

Push-ups

Push-ups

 

 

 

 

Walking Lunge

walking-lunge

 

 

 

 

 

Single-Leg Squats

single-leg-squat

 

 

 

 

Single-Leg Deadlifts

single-leg-deadlift

 

 

 

 

Bulgarian Split-Squat

split-squat

 

 

 

 

 

Russian Twist

russian twist with medicine ball

 

 

 

Pull-ups

pull-ups

 

 

 

 

 

Back Extensions

backextension

 

 

 

 

Step-Ups

Dumbbell-StepUp

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I said, there are many more exercises that are wonderful and also effective for runners, but these are a great place to start. These focus on the entire body, but specifically legs and core. There are many different camps in regards to how often, how many reps, and how much weight one should lift, but I would recommend to start with 3 sets x 10 reps of enough weight that you can keep good form for each exercise while still taxing your muscles. If you can do all the reps with ease, you need to increase the weight. (Sidenote: Just last week I was doing the same exercise as a man twice my size but with a heavier weight!)

Happy running! 🙂

    • boxfitness
    • March 6th, 2013

    Reblogged this on boxfitness.

  1. Great fitness resource and info. for runners. Thanks Sami! Love this and a great combo of exercises to build strength out on the roads. I need this as I train for my half in April. Big fan of one-legged squats, as hard as they are to do. Hope all is well. Good luck with the novel too!… [FYI, I moved my blog to self-hosted to: seacoastfitnessdaly.com]

  2. Reblogged this on SEACOAST FITNESS DALY.

  3. Absolutely great information Samantha! I’m 51 years old and I only have one running event under my belt: my first 5k that I did in June 2012. This summer I have more events planned, along with a half in October. I want to be strong enough to go the distance.
    I love the lunges and also the deadlifts with my kettlebell. If I could do a push-up, the world would probably stop revolving, but I’m still trying. 🙂

    I reblogged this on my Ezhealthcents blog. 🙂

    Thanks for your post!

    Vicki

  4. Reblogged this on Ezhealthcents.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

