Newton Running Clinic

  I wrote a post a few months ago that highlighted Newton Running Shoes and their growing emergence on the running scene. Last week I went to a running clinic at a local running store named The Sneaker Factory that was sponsored by Newton. One of the guys running the clinic was Ian Adamson, adventure racer, ultrarunner, and Guinness World Record holder. He was a great guy, very friendly and I was able to chat with him for a while before the event began. We talked about why he thinks Newton’s are a better running shoe, why I didn’t necessarily need my Nikes (these were my questions, he never tried to push me into buying anything!), strength training for runners among other things.

There are a lot of articles, and more popping up every day, on the benefits of running in a “minimal” shoe, ie. a shoe that doesn’t have a thick heel that essentially throws off your running gait and makes your muscles over compensate for your altered gait thus increasing your chances for injury. I’m always a little incredulous when a new trend pops up and wait to see if a. this is something that would work for me and my body and b. to see if there’s more to it than just a fad following. But the more I read and talk to guys like Ian, the more I’m realizing that it’s time for me to make the switch. Ian also mentioned not switching 100% in the beginning, but combining your runs with maybe a mile at first in a minimal shoe with the rest of your mileage in your normal shoes. I’m sure there are other philosophies as well, but that sounded like a logical method to me!

In addition to chatting with Ian, he and his colleague took the group outside to practice some drills that essentially mimic how you should be running. These drills, with practice, should allow you to run the way your body is meant to rather than the heel striking way many of our bodies have been conditioned to run due to added heel support in the majority of running shoes. To find more on how to run naturally check out Newton’s Run Better page or the book Natural Running by Danny Abshire.

Happy Running! 🙂

    • mlwattsupp
    • July 15th, 2012

    Sounds like a great experience. I tried to switch to a minimalist shoe (Nike Frees) last year and incorporated them into my running slowly. I also heard a lot about making sure to go easy at first and gradually adjust. I only ran short runs with them once a week (never more than 3 miles) and I was only logging 15 miles or so a week. After about a month I developed a bad case of shin splints that vanished when I went back to my traditional cushioned running shoes. This was pretty surprising to me since I am a fairly neutral runner who strikes with the ball of my foot.

    I still really like the idea of wearing a minimalist shoe, but I think it takes a lot more adjustment time than the general word on the street tells people. I also think that a strength training program aimed at the lower body (calves and core especially) may help the transition. Good luck!

    • That’s really good to know as well. Everyone is different and what works for some may not work for others. I hope you found your perfect shoe! 🙂

  1. March 28th, 2013

Leave a Reply

