It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

 Americus by MK Reed and Jonothan Hill – This was a great graphic novel. When a conservative mother makes it her personal crusade to rid her town of sin and evil, which comes in the form of a well-loved novel featuring dragons and magic, chaos ensues. Parts made me mad because I know there are actually people like this woman out there who want to censor books that libraries carry because of their personal beliefs. A very good read though with great subplots threaded throughout.

 Aunt Dimity and the Village Witch by Nancy Atherton – I really enjoy this series featuring a woman who inherited an English cottage in a small town from Aunt Dimity, a friend of her mother’s whom she never met but speaks to in the form of a journal. What’s great about these books is that they aren’t dark and murderous, they’re set in the English countryside, and, despite trials along the way, always have nice resolutions. Purely an escape novel, which can be so nice.

  The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells – I’m listening to this sci-fi tale on CD. It’s another novel that I should have read a long time ago. When the protagonist, through a series of unfortunate events, comes to the island he is disgusted by the grotesque creatures that inhabit it. Only as he sees and learns more does he realize the true madness that has captured the island and fears for his life. The only bad thing about this CD is that I’m certain I’ll miss a turn one day because I’m so entranced with this nail-biting tale.

  The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz – An adult novel based on a case of Sherlock Holmes. I hope he plans on writing more as I am thoroughly enjoying this novel. Filled with the spirit of Doyle plus twists and turns that will keep your heart thupping until the last page.

 

 

I hope you’re reading week is just as enjoyable as mine is! Happy reading! 🙂

  1. Aunt Dimity and The House of Silk will go on my wish list. Thanks for sharing these books.

  2. I didn’t love the only Aunt Dimnity book that I read, but hopefully you like this one. And I cannot believe I haven’t read Dr. Moreau … need to remedy that!

    • needakeyplease
    • May 14th, 2012

    Americus sounds good.

  3. I read Dr. Moreau a couple of months ago. What an adventure–when you finish it, try reading Frankenstein. Lots of the same themes, but treated very differently. Enjoy!

  4. The House of Silk sounds amazing. I need to read some Sherlock Holmes pronto.

    • shannonjoe
    • May 16th, 2012

    Those are some very unique sounding books. That graphic novel looks like one I would be interested in! 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

