It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

This past week was a great one for reading on my porch. Sunshine, warm breezes, the smell of spring, ahhh… So while I got a little distracted and had to go off and play disc golf every once in a while, it was a great week for springtime reading.

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

  Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach – Felton Reinstein is used to being called Squirrel Nut and being an outsider. But one day he wakes up and realizes he is really, really fast. Soon he’s playing football and being one of the jocks. But Felton realizes it won’t fix everything that is wrong in his life. At some point he’s going to have to stop running and face bigger issues that are going on in his life. Adolescent angst and running? This is going to be a great book. 🙂

 

 

Dead End In Norvelt by Jack Gantos – The winner of the 2012 Newbery Medal and the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, Dead End is marketed as the entirely true and wildly fictional story about a kid named Jack Gantos. (Not sure what that means, but someone clearly thought they were being clever…) The story sounds extremely entertaining however with small town eccentricities and exaggerated obituaries. I’m listening to this one on CD and its narrated by the author. A great motivation to drive to work!

 

 

  The Great American Ale Trail by Christian DeBeredetti – As a beer lover I’m constantly on the lookout for new books that center around the craft of beer making and enjoying. I also love road trips, so while drinking is driving is never good, this book is perfect for when I reach a destination and am looking for restaurants and brewpubs that serve unique craft beer selections. And more often than not, places that serve good beer, serve good food too. I’ve already taken note of breweries and/or brewpubs around my area to visit and can’t wait to try them out.

 

 

Hope you’re enjoying this spring weather as much as I am. Happy reading! 🙂

  1. I have not started one today – but I will be seeing if our library has these!

  2. The teens at my library really liked Stupid Fast.

    Happy reading this week!

    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading @ the Brunette Librarian’s Blog

  3. Your books are so different – hope you enjoy them all.

  4. I’m reading Running the Rift by Naomi Benaron. It’s very good but I’ve had to take it slow since I’m so busy. Reading has been limited to a quick 5-10 mins here and there. Are you seriously reading all three of these at the same time? If so, I’m impressed.

    • I usually “read” three or four books at a time only because usually one is one I carry around all day, one is a book on CD, and the others are usually graphic novels or books like the Ale Trail where I don’t have to read every word. Hope you find time in your busy days to read! 🙂

  5. The Great American Ale Trail sounds fun! We’ve recently started watching that Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives show and I’m always hoping to see a place that is close to us!

    • That’s such a good idea! I’m always on the lookout for new places to check out. Never know when you’re going to strike gold. 🙂

  6. I have Stupid Fast and I believe I also have Dead End in my ereader (I lose track of what I have, lol).

    Happy reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

