Inspired Writing

  Every day I’m inspired by the world around me. I’ll see the way my bathroom products are haphazardly splayed on my counters and think, This is probably how my character’s bathroom would look too. When I come across a quirky person at work or see the way the dogwood outside is flowering or the way a construction site on my drive home sounds, I’m inspired.

I think seeing the world through a creative lens is my favorite part of being a writer. I feel as though I ingest life on a daily basis, paying close attention to all its eccentricities. And as I write on a regular basis, I’m more in tune to finding those things that would add flavor to my novels. Feelings and smells and tastes are all set aside in my mental database for use at a later date.

Hope you find your inspiration too! 🙂

  1. So true. As I writer, I think of myself as a painter of sorts interpreting the world as I see it. I like finding the small things in the world that also make it special highlighting it for others. Great and inspiring post!

  2. This is so inspiring, and I think it is a great way to see life.
    Today, I wrote on someone else’s blog that “nothing in life is really mundane afterall,” and I believe that even more now that I have read this entry.

    If we can see life through creative lenses, most likely we can see life with much optimism.
    Thank you for sharing this.

    • Thanks for your comments! I appreciate your quote that nothing in life is really mundane. In my opinion, it’s all in our perception and what we choose to make of life that matters in the end.

      • Well said indeed. I am learning daily.
        Keep running.

    • nrgalloway24
    • March 22nd, 2012

    I think this is so true. People always ask writers where they get their ideas. But inspiration is all around us, we just have to open our eyes to see it.

  3. I get what you mean, and what I find, and sometimes search for in everyday life is a lesson. Same thing, I think.
    🙂

  4. This was an inspiring post to show us to look around…thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

