It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

I’m happy to report that the Pitchapalooza event that my library hosted was a huge success! After months of planning, it’s a relief to not have to think about making sure all the details are covered and that the event goes off without a hitch. We had more than 80 people present, which is about room capacity, the weather was amazing for March, and no last-minute disasters occurred. It was wonderful. Even Arielle and David, the Book Doctors, said how there were many great pitches, more than usual even! People are already clamoring for them to come back for another Pitchapalooza, but I’m happy to take a break for a little while. ๐Ÿ™‚ The winner of the event was actually the leader of the NJ Children’s Writer’s Guild with her pitch on a bi-lingual picture book she’s been working on. Very cool!

As always, I’m filling in my free moments with lots of writing and reading. Here’s what I’ve been reading:

ย ย  Feynman by Ottaviani & Myrick – Despite not understanding much of physics, I’ve always been fascinated by the sciences, especially areas like physics and quantum mechanics. When I saw the shiny new copy on the amazing Richard Feynman come into the library, I snatched it up. Not only was Feynman a leader in the world of theoretical physics, but he worked on the controversial Manhattan Project, a secret atomic bomb making project sanctioned by the U.S. As I’m reading this biography in graphic novel form, I’m learning a lot more about the great man and liking him even more than before!

 

 

 

The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball – Can you imagine living a hipster life in a rent-controlled apartment in NYC one minute then packing all your worldly possessions into your hatchback and moving to a farm? Thus begins Kimball’s memoir, taking her readers from supermarkets, heels, and a vegetarian existence to a run-down farm, work boots, and eating every (EVERY) part of a slaughtered farm animal. Funny and eye-opening, this is a wonderful book on CD. While some parts are cringe-worthy, it is amazing how a life calling can yield such bountiful results. Although not an easy road, Kimball shows her readers what it’s like to learn farm-life from scratch and learn to love every minute!

 

 

 

Slow week for me because of all my running around, but hoping to add some more titles before the week is out! Happy reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I think you get some serious points for reading science books, even though it’s not your thing. I remember my father trying to get me to read The Origin of Species in high school. I don’t think I got past the introduction!

  2. The Dirty Life sounds especially interesting! Have a great week!

  3. The Dirty Life looks interesting.

    Many years ago I read Feynman’s Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman! It was a great read.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

