It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

I officially signed up for Book Expo America this June in NYC. Yay! It’s like a mini vacation for me as I get to meet new people in the world of books, pick up some fun ARCs, and listen to great speakers about the craft of writing. If you love books and have never been, definitely check it out! And this week is the big Pitchapalooza event. I’ve been working on making this event a great experience for the community, so as excited as I am I’m also looking forward to it being finished after all the work and planning! šŸ™‚

I’ve been reading some great books as well:

Ā  Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury – I’m listening to this book on CD and the narrator does a great job of bringing Bradbury’s classic tale to life. The descriptive language alone makes Something Wicked a wonderful book to listen to.

 

 

Ā  Batman: The Black Mirror by Scott SnyderĀ – I just started this graphic novel and so far, so good. The illustrations are classic superhero with their bold colors and ideal figures. It begins with Dick Grayson as Batman after he took over the cape and cowl when the original Batman was supposedly dead. But Batman has returned as well as a fun litany of evil villians – a recipe for excitement!

 

Ā  Wonder by R.J. PalacioĀ – This juvenile fiction book is one of the best books I’ve read in a while. August is a typical 10-year-old boy starting his first year of middle school. Except August was born with severe facial defects that, countless surgeries later, have made breathing and eating better but haven’t changed the aesthetics of his face. Told through several people surrounding August, Palacio’s story paints a wonderful picture of being different and how it’s the love and kindness that makes all the difference.

Ā  Mistborn by Brandon SandersonĀ – The first book in the Mistborn series, Sanderson, who I was first introduced to through his collaboration with the late Robert Jordan in finishing his Wheel of Time series, has written a high fantasy book where evil reigns and there has been no salvation in sight for the past thousand years. This series has been recommended to me several times, so I’m excited to finally be reading it!

 

I hope you’re reading week is just as enjoyable as mine is! Happy reading! šŸ™‚

  1. Read Something Wicked This Way Comes a long time ago, but sounds like this might be a fun one to listen to, and Wonder sounds really good, must add that to my last.

    Very cool about BEA, perhaps I’ll see you there!

  2. Those books do look fun and fantastic – I haven’t gotten into graphic novels yet – so many books so little time šŸ™‚

  3. I’ve seen Wonder all over the place today–hope you enjoy.
    Check out what I am reading here

  4. I love Bradbury, and the other books look intriguing as well.

    I just added Wonder to my wish list.

    Have a great week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

