It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

Happy (Almost) Valentine’s Day! I hope everyone gets shown – and shows – a little extra love this week. Although I do fall in the “I want to show my loved ones that I love them every day, not just Valentine’s Day” I still think the holiday is fun. 🙂 I had off from work today which has afforded me the opportunity to catch up on my To Do list. I’ve gotten a chance to do some writing on my novel, which is progressing nicely, and watch the most recent Downton Abbey – yay! Love days off! 😀

I’m reading and listening to some wonderful books right now. Here’s what I’m enjoying this week:

  Born to Run by Christopher McDougall – I’m really enjoying this book on CD. The narrator is wonderful and it doesn’t hurt that the topic is interesting too. McDougall seems to have done a thorough job in his research on running and, more specifically, why some runners are faster, healthier, and seemingly indefatigable. I’m not quite finished, but I believe the argument and conclusions that follow are on the merits of barefoot running and going back to the days before the running shoe revolution. Stories about the featured runners and the history behind some of the longest, most challenging races are really interesting. Makes me wish I were reading it so I didn’t have to stop when my drive was finished! The only aspect I don’t like is how McDougall writes like he has a bone to pick with Dean Karnazes, another, very well known, ultrarunner. I don’t know if Dean turned him down for something, but McDougall comes across as being petty. It’s strange when the rest of the book is so positive and really detracts from the story McDougall is trying to tell.

 

  Legacy by Molly Cochran – I’m not very far into this YA paranormal book, but I’m already in love! Cochran has a wonderful way with storytelling. It has everything I look for in an engrossing paranormal read – mystery, attractive love interest, protagonist with unrealized powers, delightful setting and side characters. I have a feeling I’m going to rip through this one quickly! 🙂

 

 

 

 

  100 Bullets written by Brian Azzarello and illustrated by Eduardo Risso – What would you do if a stranger offered you the chance to get away with murder? Thus begins the graphic novel series 100 Bullets. With a premise like that, how could I not read it? The illustrations are classic and keep in tune with the integrity of the plot. There are actually, as the title suggests, a hundred untraceable bullets, one gun and a promise that no repercussions will take place against the person who decides to use the gun and the bullets. Although I’m only on the first one, I’m already intrigued and am looking forward to reading the others (there are 12 in the series).

 

 

 

Happy reading! 🙂

  1. These all seem interesting. 100 Bullets especially caught my eye. Thanks for sharing your books with us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

