I am a ___________

  I am a runner.

I am a daughter.

I am a reader.

I am _________.

On a run yesterday, I got to thinking – I always do my best thinking on runs – what makes us who we are? A little philosophical, yes, but mostly just curious. It started when someone my fiance spoke with said she wasn’t a runner, but then went on to say “Yeah, I only run a couple half marathons a year and a few other races…” Um…what?? But it got me thinking, what makes us who we are? When would that person say definitively – “I am a runner.”?

So here’s what I’ve come up with so far in my theory: 1. You are who you desire to be or 2. You are what circumstances have placed upon you. For example, I am a runner. I feel confident in saying I am such because every day I either think of running or I am running. No, I don’t run marathons. No, I don’t figure out my split times. Yes, I strive to be a runner by practicing, reading and talking about it as much as possible, hence, I’m a runner.

As for the other requisite, I am what circumstances have placed on me. For example, I am a daughter. I didn’t choose to be a daughter, but as soon as my parents had me that’s what I became. I’m reading John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars – a wonderful, real book about kids trying to live with cancer – and in one part, a parent laments that she won’t be a mother anymore if her child dies. I disagree with her statement. I think that if you become a mother nothing can take that from you.

And as for this weekend, I strive to be a writer and so a writer I shall be. šŸ™‚

Happy writing!

  1. Interesting topic. I’m not confident enough to call myself a runner. I “train” or attempt to get in shape for a certain 5 mile race each summer but I’m slow (12-13 min mile pace at my best) and I don’t look like a typical runner. I think if I improve my pace, really get in shape and get consistent with my runs, I’ll feel confident enough to call myself a runner. I am definitely a reader and proud of it. šŸ™‚

  2. Runners run. Writers write. You, my friend, are most definitely BOTH.

    In addition, you’re on solid ground, psychologically speaking, with connecting *doing* with *being*. One of Alfred Adler’s most-used and most-useful therapeutic techniques, “acting as if”, involves encouraging a client to behave as though he/she has already achieved the sought-after goal. In short, “fake it ’til you make it”.

    Thanks for another great post!

  3. Nice post. Something about being in the outdoors always gets me thinking, too. You are definitely a runner and a writer and also a bit of a philosopher.

    • There’s something about being outdoors, and unhooked from technology, that seems to promote more creative thinking. Thanks for the comments, Alissa. šŸ™‚

    • Adhityani (Dhitri) Putri
    • September 24th, 2012

    Love! Although, there seem to be invisible social pressure to be of a certain pace, clad yourself in colorful tech gear, run a certain distance and own certain fancy GPS watches before one can call him or herself a runner… Or perhaps it’s just a newbie like me feeling intimidated by the running crowd out there?

    Either way, just like yourself, I run… and think of, speak of and read and write about running almost every day (obsessed much?). Slow pace aside, I am definitely a runner.

    • I agree with you, although I tend to ignore those pressures and call myself a runner anyway! Pace has nothing to do with being a runner in my opinion. I’m just as impressed with someone who is just going out and putting in the miles as with those with the Nike sponsorships winning races.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy running! šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

