Word Count Widget

  As part of my writing goals for 2012, I wanted to find a word count widget that I could display, for all to see, on my sidebar. Partly because it’s motivating to see that little blue line move ever closer to my goal of (approximately) 75,000 words as I progress on my novel writing. Also, because I’ll be more apt to stick with my writing goals when my lack of progress will be evident on my blog.

After much web surfing, I found a word count widget that’s not only sleek, but also is easy to use in wordpress! Yay! 🙂  The only downside, as I don’t know any html code and don’t have the time to figure it out, is that I have to continue returning to the original website to plug in my new word count numbers every time I want to update the widget on my blog. Minor details…

Maybe you have a different widget you prefer, but if not check out this site to copy the html into your own blog.

Happy writing!

(Note: Since I first wrote this post, the word count widget I originally used no longer exists. I have replaced that widget with another that I found to be equally as effective.)

  1. Fun idea, though I think I’ll refrain from posting a widget like that on my blog. It would look sad and pathetic especially when it starts going down instead of up.

  2. Oh, thank you for sharing! I think it’s motivating to have this kind of visual aids!

  3. Thank You. thank you. I looked al over for something that wasn’t a plug in. And this looks so nice.

  4. I just found this and added one to my own blog! Thank’s for the tip!!

  5. Danke!

  6. Great find – thank you for the link!

  7. Thank you for sharing the link, I’ve been looking everywhere for one to use for Camp Nano.

  1. January 16th, 2012

Leave a Reply

