Writing Wednesday

  Every Wednesday is Writing Wednesday for me. I used to write more often, but with limited time comes more a more budgeted writing effort. And while it would be nice to have the freedom to write throughout the day and night, I’ve found that if I don’t make time for writing it won’t get done.

During the day while I’m at work all I can think about are my characters, where I want the story to go or how to resolve any issues that have come up while I’ve been writing. But after work, it’s another story. I don’t know if I’m alone on this, but no matter how excited I am at the thought of getting home and writing at the end of the day, a lot of times it just doesn’t happen. There seem to be any number of reasons why I don’t make the time to write: I’m tired, I have to workout, I have to go to the grocery store, I have to run errands… That’s why I instated my Writing Wednesday policy. I’m always happy for it, but sometimes I just need to give myself that extra nudge to get the job done. 🙂

And while I believe in making resolutions throughout the year as they are more likely to be kept by me, I want to set aside time to write at least two days a week in 2012 (if not more). I think that’s a very attainable goal.

Here’s what I’m wondering though – everyone has obligations/distractions in their lives that take them away from writing. What do you need to do in order to stay diligent as a writer? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Happy Writing Wednesday! 😀

  1. Sounds like you’ve got the scaffolding for building a great plan here.

    Some questions to consider:

    What are your criteria for defining “success” (e.g., 500 words every other Wednesday by 10pm?, writing for 1 hour at least 3 Wednesdays every month, 1 chapter completed by midnight every Wednesday)?

    How will you reward yourself and at what time intervals when you’ve successfully met your goal?

    How might you build accountability into your plan?

    Write on, my friend!

    • Those are great questions! I’ll have to think about those. I especially think reward and accountability are an integral part to being successful. 🙂

  2. p.s. I *love* the addition of the falling snowflakes!

  3. Sadly, I have no advice for your. My writing is very much a scattershot affair. It tends to be late at night because that’s when things are quietest and when I don’t feel like I have to be doing something else, but I’d love to be able to write more during the day.

    • Later in the evening or right after work tends to be my ideal time as well. I do think what you said in your newsletter a while back about watching less to TV is key though because some days all I want to do is veg out and not think! 🙂

  4. I don’t write much but I do try to carve out time to read. It’s easier for me to get things done away from home and early in the morning. Good luck on your goals.

  5. I struggle with the same thing… too many distractions! I find so many other things to do. I did take the first week of January off to do some writing. I hope I can stick with it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

