It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

I decided it was time to return to finish a couple of books I’d started, but put down in part because of their girth and part because new releases kept distracting me. 🙂 While I love reading new books by debut authors or returning favorites I realized I need to return to the classics and make a point of reading those as much as I read newer novels. So, hence Les Miserables. There are others that I can’t even bear mentioning because I should have read them long ago and thus will return to during this holiday season/new year. Starting my resolutions early! 🙂

  Wheel of Time # 6: Lord of Chaos by Robert Jordan – Whenever I need a hands-down great book to escape into, I turn to Robert Jordan. If you love epic fantasies, you’ll love Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. It’s one of the reasons I’ve taken my time with reading the series. Also, aside from an autographed book from Brandon Sanderson after a talk he gave about picking up Jordan’s tale after the famed author had passed away, I love finding the books (mostly in paperback) at used bookstores around the country. It’s like a treasure hunt. 🙂

 

 

  Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – A classic centered around the French Revolution, this tome is both roman a clef and a beautiful, albeit tragic, portrait of the lives touched during this time. I’d read most of Les Mis before I picked up Jennifer Donnelly’s novel Revolution and was glad I had as it made for a great reference to her vivid novel on the same topic. Hugo’s novel is a must read both for its rich descriptions and storylines and its historical significance.

 

 

  Brewed Awakening by Joshua Bernstein – I’m really enjoying this new non-fiction book all about beer. It covers a range of areas on the topic including great beers to try, the home brewing movement, and what goes into the making of a good beer. I’m interested in trying to brew my own beer and in looking into the topic, stumbled upon this book. While it’s not so much about beer recipes, it’s teaching me a lot about what makes a brewery and a beer great.

 

 

 

Hope you have a great last week in November! 🙂

  1. I have the same problem with books. New books distract me so much.
    Les Miserables have wanted to read so much but never got around too.

    Brewed Awakening looks fun.
    This Christmas and New Year I’ll be reading a lot!
    Happy reading.

  2. Hi!
    Sounds like a great list of books. I’ve been trying to read more classics. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  3. Good luck with Le Mes… I have been thinking about reading this book (or maybe listening). I also have a long list of classics to read, feeling like I’m the only one left who hasn’t read them. 🙂

    Have a wonderful week, it’s a great week for running in NJ!

  4. It’s been a while since I read Les Mis. I liked that mine was an older copy broken up into several books – less to lug around!
    Happy Reading!

  5. Your stack for this week looks pretty interesting! Happy reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

