It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

Had a lovely weekend filled with family, fun and happiness. My niece’s fourth birthday party was on Sunday. My sister-in-law is very creative and for the rainbow themed party she had all the family members wear a different color and stand in ROY G BIV order for a picture. And she made a birthday cake with six rainbowed layers. Amazing!

I’m still listening to The Marriage Plot and am really enjoying Eugenides narrative style. I finished Everybody Sees the Ants and if you haven’t read it, you really need to grab a copy. Very, very good.

Here’s what I’m reading this week:

  Making Sanity Out of Vanity by Stanley D. Gale – The Biblical book of Ecclesiastes is not the easiest nor the most lighthearted book to read. It speaks of the meaninglessness and the vanity of life. I’ve found this to be a fascinating read as Ecclesiastes is multi-layered and not as easily interpreted as the more narrative Biblical stories. If you’ve ever wondering what Ecclesiastes is all about, Gale takes an in depth, exegetical look at a complicated book of the Bible that’s worth reading.

 

 

 

  The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – This magical tale is about old rivalries and new love. Although I’m not far along in this novel yet, I’m already really enjoying it. Morgenstern has a gift of telling a story in a way that both engrossing and intricate. Her characters are multidimensional and her timeline goes back and forth forcing her readers to stay engaged in where the story is going. A wonderful blend of fairytale and literature. 🙂

 

 

 

Hope you have had a fun reading week! 😀

  1. I downloaded The Night Circus yesterday. I can’t wait to read it. I read a sample not too long ago and loved it.

    I’ve been wanting to try rainbow cake.

    Have a great week.

  2. It is an honor to be featured with my granddaughter’s birthday cake. And somewhat poetic, in that Ecclesiastes brings many layers to a thing of beauty and delight.

  3. Night Circus is gorgeous isn’t it? I really enjoyed it. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

