It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

Man, oh, man have I been having fun. I got to see one of my favorite authors A.S. King at the Clinton Book Shop in Clinton, NJ, this past week. She’s even cooler in person than I imagined from reading her books. And completely crazy in a dance groove queen kinda way, so of course I loved her immediately. I went with my friend and author, also amazingly awesome, Alissa Grosso and we happily bought King’s latest book Everybody Sees the Ants and listened to her read excerpts from her books and generally regale us with tales. I’ll post more about her latest book later this week, so stayed tuned.

I also just got back from a great trip to the Finger Lakes, NY, where we rented a cabin for the weekend. There were three little ponds surrounded by colorful trees on the property, plus a great outdoor patio with a fire pit and Adirondack chairs. The cabin was located just West of Canandaigua Lake (took me a while to even pronounce that!), and rolling hills on fire with changing leaves. We went to wineries, local artisan shops, wooded hikes replete with waterfalls, and charming cafes. The perfect weekend. 🙂

In other news, here’s what I’ve been reading:

  Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King – King does it again with a story that is at the same time gut-wrenching and hopeful. Somehow her books always make me want to go on adventures and be a better person, not sure how she manages to do all that through her books. And while this particular book is about bullying, it also touches on an gamut of other topics, including the Vietnam War. If you’ve never read King, pick up one her books, you won’t regret it! 🙂

 

 

  Three Weeks with My Brother by Nicholas and Micah Sparks – This is probably my new favorite book by Nicholas Sparks. I’m listening to this raw, emotional story of his childhood that is interspersed with a present day trip around the world with his brother. What surprised me most was how rough his childhood was and the tragic events that shaped his life. Also, his evolution in writing and quick rise to success is amazing. The narrator is great and Sparks reads the introduction which is fun as well. Definitely worth listening to or reading!

Happy Reading! 😀

  1. I’ve heard great things about A.S. King’s writing. Enjoy your book!

  2. Sounds like AS King leaves an impact for sure.

    My Post

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2011/11/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-this-is.html

  3. I love A.S. King. I’ll definitely check out her latest book.

  4. Thanks for the plug, Sam! I can’t wait to dive into Everybody Sees the Ants.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

