It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

Snow in October! ARGH! Normally I do my long runs on the trails close to my house because they are relatively flat and stretch for miles and miles. But with the snow and the frozen crust of ice on it that formed overnight, there’s no way the trails will be clear for my run today. So I decided to hit the gym, although 9 miles on a treadmill is not fun :(, only to get an email that the Y is closed until noon! What a bust! Meanwhile I had a shindig planned Saturday that had to be postponed until Sunday afternoon, so I need some time to prep for that so my time is sadly limited. Oh well, best laid plans and all that. šŸ™‚

I’m still listening to The Marriage Plot by Eugenides and really enjoying it. It took a little while to get used to Eugenides style of narration, but once I did I quickly got sucked into the depths of the novel. I highly recommend the book or, rather, the book on CD.

Other than that, I’m only reading one (only one?!?) book this week:

Ā  The Taker by Alma Katsu – I’m enjoying this debut novel by Katsu with it’s unique story about a doctor that has a chance run in with a woman who has a mysterious past. The present is interspersed with flashbacks of who the woman is and how she came from 1817 to live to today. The novel reads almost like a fable or a fairytale, which feels fresh and unique.

I hope you are enjoying your readings this week as much as I am! šŸ™‚

  1. The Taker sounds interesting. Will you be reviewing it? I look forward to your thoughts.

    have a safe night!

    • shelleyrae @ Book’d Out
    • October 31st, 2011

    Glad you are enjoying your current reads – The Marriage Plot sounds interesting

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  2. The Taker sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

