This is Halloween

  I love Halloween. It’s fun to see all the costumes, watch scary movies that aren’t really scary (ie. Nightmare Before Christmas), and eat candy until I feel sick. Ahh, the joys.

This year, I’ll be working on Halloween, but am a little bummed because I still haven’t thought of a good costume. Stink. One problem is that I don’t really want to spend any money, so that definitely limits my options. So if you have any good – and cheap – ideas let me know! On the plus side I’m totally decking out the house this year. I picked up some cardboard boxes that I’ve cut and painted as gravestones, sketched some scenes from Nightmare Before Christmas to hang and got a few nick-knacks from a craft store. Now all I have to do is string some lights, get my Halloween playlist set, fill my crockpot cauldron with mulled apple cider, and fill my pumpkin bowls with candy. Should be spooktacular! Oh and I’m trying to decide what to watch: Nightmare before Christmas, American Werewolf in London, Hocus Pocus, or The Walking Dead. Decisions, decisions…

I’m planning on having a huge pumpkin carving party (okay, maybe it’ll just be me, my girlfriend and my dog, but still…) this Friday to kick off the Halloweekend, so I have to get planning on what elaborate design I want to carve. Hmmm…

  1. You’d make an excellent Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games series. You could do it on the cheap. Use some makeup to give yourself some injuries, add a toy bow/arrow, maybe carry a stuffed animal cat to represent Buttercup.

    I vote for The Walking Dead for your Halloween night entertainment! Best. Zombie show. Ever.

    Good luck!

    • That’s a great idea! And would be pretty easy to pull together. Thanks! Walking Dead is the best zombie show ever. 🙂 The graphic novels are even more gruesome if you can believe it…

  2. Katniss is a great idea, I’m going with the tried and true….a witch. I bought a hat and a spider web lace table cloth to use as a shawl and I already own a black dress. Quick and easy. Just need to decide how to do my make up. I have a stuffed cat but it’s not black so I guess I’ll be a friendlier witch.

    My choice would be Nightmare before Christmas

  3. Sounds like fun! And working at the library, you have to be literary character of some sort!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

