It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

The weekend was quite Fall-y so I spent a lot of time outside enjoying the weather (in between rain showers) and snuggling up with a good book at night. We also were able to go to a Cider Mill in Chester, NJ, to pick pumpkins – for future Halloweenie fun – and nosh on fresh, warm pumpkin cider doughnuts. Delicious! šŸ™‚ A perfect autumn weekend.

Didn’t get a lot of writing done on my novel this week, but did get to read a lot of graphic novels. Here’s what I’ve been enjoying:

Ā  My Boyfriend is a Monster by Paul D. Storrie – A great little graphic novel with fun illustrations about a girl and her Frankenstein-ish boyfriend. There are three others in this series so far – My Boyfriend is a: Vampire, Faerie, and Zombie. This is the first one I’ve read and I’m definitely enjoying it for it’s witty writing and fun storyline.

 

 

 

Ā  Revolver by Matt Kindt – This was a great graphic novel with an intriguing plot. Sam is a loser living an average life with no aspirations or drive. But then when he goes to sleep one night he wakes to find the world in mass chaos with bombs and diseases ravaging the world. He is forced to change overnight and fight to make sense of this turn of events. But then the next day he’s back in the original world. His days continue alternating until Sam finally has to decide which world he wants to live in permanently. I really loved this graphic novel. It was thought provoking and I’ve been ruminating about it every since I turned the final page.

 
Ā  Empire State: A Love Story (Or Not) by Jason Shiga – I especially loved the unique, quirky illustrations colored in either blue or red. When two friends are separated by a new job and a journey from CA to NYC, Jimmy decides to leave his bubble of sci-fi and life with mom and take a bus to visit Sara. He is wowed by all the new wonders that the city presents, but isn’t sure NYC is for him. A fun take on relationships and what constitutes as risk taking.

 

 

 

I love reading graphic novels because they are so interesting, quick reads, and vastly different from one another. I need to bone up on my comic knowledge to prepare for my trip to NYC Comic Con next week. šŸ™‚

Happy Reading!

  1. I read two graphic novels recently and loved them. I’d definitely read more and I’ll look out for these.

    • There are a lot of really good ones out there (and some not so good ones). I should really have a page of my favorites on my blog..hmmm…

  2. Someday I want to go to a Comic Con.

  3. I haven’t read any graphic novels, but these look like fun. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

