It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

It was a beautiful weekend – fall is officially in the air! 🙂 Although I’m pretty sure next weekend is supposed to be warm again…My girlfriend is doing a bike ride to raise money for MS that weekend, so it’ll make for perfect weather to cruise 75 miles. I’ll be happily cheering along on the sidelines this time.

Update on the books I read/listened to this past week: I mentioned that I was listening to The Hypnotist this past week. I’ve been intrigued with the fascination surrounding authors such as Nesbo, Larsson, and Kepler. I’d heard they were dark and gory, but I still wanted to give them a try. I stopped listening after the fifth CD because I couldn’t stand the violence anymore. I’ve never stopped a book because it was too intense…before this one. It takes the thriller genre to a whole new level of darkness. One which I won’t be visiting again anytime soon!

Here’s what I’ll be reading this week:

  The Hunchback Assignments by Arthur Slade – This engrossing novel falls in between MG and YA with a riveting plot and literary allusions. Dr. Hyde is a recluse scientist hired to perform gruesome experiments to build living creatures into stronger, mechanized creatures. Modo is a boy hunchback discovered and taken in because of his marvelous ability to shift his features into whoever he wants to be. Filled with espionage, mystery, and unique characters, this series is definitely worth picking up!

  Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan – I’m hoping this book on CD will provide a lighter reprieve from the intensely horrific one I just stopped listening to. When Will Grayson and Will Grayson’s lives intersect they have no idea the humor and heart that will go into building new relationships all while putting together an epic production of their high school musical. This novel has gotten great reviews, so I’m looking forward to finally reading it!

Okay, so it’s a slow reading week for me this week. I’m hoping the lighter list will propel me to write that much more of my novel! 😀

Happy reading!

  1. The Hunchback Assignments looks good. Will Grayson, Will Grayson does as well–I have a copy, but haven’t cracked it open yet.

    Happy reading.

    • The Book and Movie Dimension blogger
    • September 19th, 2011

    Ooh, The Hunchback Assingment does look good. The horror novel you heard sounds awful. Hate reading about violence myself.

  2. I’m cozying up with Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand this week. Sounds like The Hypnotist would have made wonderful fodder for the discussion topic at last month’s meeting!

  3. I feel monstrously behind on my reading. That to-read pile just keeps growing. Enjoy this week’s reads and the bike race.

    • Thanks, Alissa. It goes along with what you were saying in your latest newsletter though about how sometimes things like reading need to go on the back burner in order to be more productive with one’s writing. Easier said than done for a bibliophile! 🙂

  4. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was fun, although I don’t know about the CD. Did you see that the1stdaughter at There’s a Book has that on her list this week, too? http://www.theresabook.com/2011/09/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-33-2/

  5. These both look intriguing…thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog. Have a great week!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

