It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Find out what everyone’s reading!

It’s been pouring here since Saturday night, which is great as most of July was very, very dry. And it makes it easier to stay inside and write and not feel guilty I’m not outside enjoying the sunshine. 🙂 Not to mention I can catch up on my nerd SyFy shows and my reading. De-light-ful!

I hope you’ve been enjoying your week of reading. Here’s what I’m up to this week:

  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – I’m infatuated with this book. It’s such a unique, clever way to tell a story, and a captivating story at that, that I’ve consumed this YA novel in a couple of days. Riggs infuses his debut novel with quirky, strange snapshots from a distant past. All, according to Riggs’ blurb in the back of the book, are real photos and he documents which one came from where. On his blog he writes that he is already beginning his second novel and photos have started flooding his In Box. The story is about a world that the protagonist believes only exists in his grandfather’s stories, until strange, inexplicable things begin to happen. Part mystery, part fantasy, all enjoyable. 🙂

 

 

  Heaven’s Shadow by David S. Goyer and Michael Cassutt – I have high hopes for this sci-fi novel. The cover was what first drew me to this book, quickly followed by its premise – huge object hurtling toward Earth bringing with it a message from an intellectually superior race. The authors also have a lot of nerd cred with Goyer working on two of the recent Batman films and an upcoming Superman movie and Cassutt producing and writing shows such as The Twilight Zone and Eerie, Indiana. I just have to stop drooling over the cover long enough to actual read it!

 

 

  21: The Story of Roberto Clemente by Wilfred Santiago – I love to read non-fiction in graphic novel form. It provides just enough information on any topic I’m interested in along with illustrations so I actually remember the facts I read. (My perfect learning scenario.) I’ve always wanted to know more about Roberto Clemente and the impact he had on baseball and America. The illustrations are both lively and heavy at once and seem to set the perfect backdrop to this inspiring and tragic tale.

 

 

 

That’s it for me this week. What have you been reading?

  1. I really want to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It looks unusual and I’m seeing it everywhere.

  2. I want to read Miss Peregrine… too I’m posting late this week because I’ve been on a trip to the mountains and out of reach of the internet. Please come see what I’ve read.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

