Finding Time to Write

  It’s hard to find time to write. Or rather, it’s hard to make time to write. I’m between books write now, having just finished my second and concentrating on sending out query letters. So I fell out of my writing habit. Ugh. Not good.

After work I have a limited amount of energy and that usually goes to walking the dog and exercising. By the time those things are finished and I’ve done other stuff like making dinner or going grocery shopping, all I want to do is read or watch TV to wind down my evening. Thus my days pass in a blur and before I know it it’s been three weeks and I haven’t written two paragraphs. Yikes!!!

After much contemplating, I realize that I’m going to have to schedule time to write. If I have a block of time after work I know I’ll fill it with other activities instead of writing, because, let’s be honest, writing is work. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy writing, but when I’m trying to figure out that tricky plot point it’s not exactly relaxing. Fun, yes, relaxing, no. But running miles and miles in the summer heat isn’t relaxing either and I always seem to make time for that. So why not with writing? When I considered this I realized it’s because my mind rests on a run, wandering here and there, and it’s rejuvenating for me.  And, when I make time to write, I can often figure out things I’m stuck on in my story while I’m running. Very cool. But I have to actually be writing in order to have these running epiphanies.

So I decided to make every Wednesday my writing day. Writing Wednesdays. It even has a nice ring to it. 🙂

Every Wednesday after walking the dog, I will leave my house (too many distractions) and type for at least two hours on my laptop. I’m hoping these chunks of writing time will grow as I progress and I get back into the habit, but I don’t want to set myself up for failure right out of the gate. My siblings (I have three) and I just had a friendly short story competition (results aren’t back yet…our parents are the judges) and that really helped me to get back into the writing groove.

I’ll keep you posted. I’d love to hear your thoughts on how you make time to write. What works best for you?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. March 28th, 2012
    Trackback from : Välkommen! | Anoo

Leave a Reply

