Biblio-Chicken

  I am a chicken. A big, feathered chicken. More specifically, a biblio-chicken. Yes. I am afraid of books. Don’t laugh! It takes a lot of courage to fess up to my cowardice. (I do realize the ridiculousness of that statement, but I’m trying to make a point here…)

I realized my bibliophobia this week when I tried to read a book and found that I just couldn’t. The book in question is Shine by Lauren Myracle. Maybe you’ve heard of it or, if you are braver than I, have already read it.

Here’s the book blurb on Amazon:

When her best guy friend falls victim to a vicious hate crime, sixteen-year-old Cat sets out to discover who in her small town did it. Richly atmospheric, this daring mystery mines the secrets of a tightly knit Southern community and examines the strength of will it takes to go against everyone you know in the name of justice. 

Against a backdrop of poverty, clannishness, drugs, and intolerance, Myracle has crafted a harrowing coming-of-age tale couched in a deeply intelligent mystery. Smart, fearless, and compassionate, this is an unforgettable work from a beloved author.

There are some topics that I really have a hard time reading about, listening to, or watching on TV. Topics that usually revolve around someone stronger taking advantage (physically, sexually, etc.) of someone vulnerable. Shine fell into that category.

I had read good reviews of Myracle’s YA novel and picked up a copy as soon as it came out. It lingered in my TBR pile until I had to decide to either read it or return it to the library. Then it moved to my nightstand, replete with bookmark marking the first page, where it sat unread. It finally dawned on me that I couldn’t read it. It was just too much for me. Even though it may be the best book ever, I couldn’t read it. I am a biblio-chicken. And I’m not ashamed to admit it. I’m going to go read some Dr. Suess now…

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. No worries Sami. I feel that way sometimes. I’m really a moody reader…I have to be in the mood to read certain genres, especially if the content is so intense.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

