Muscle Myths #2

   A few days after I told my colleague about how to use a resistance band to tone her arms, I asked her if she had tried any of them. She said she had and I asked how it was going.

“Well…” she said.

“What?” I pressed.

“My boobs hurt after I did one of the shoulder exercises, so I haven’t done them since.”

I stared at her, then asked, “Hurt as in sharp pain or hurt as in sore?”

“Hurt as in sore.”

“You do know that it wasn’t really your boobs that were sore, but your chest muscle under your boobs, right?”

She looked at me in confusion. “But I thought the exercise was for my shoulders…”

“Yeah, but sometimes other muscles are used to help do the exercise so that just means you were doing the exercise right.”

“Really?” she asked, still incredulous about the whole thing.

“Really,” I said. “But you should keep doing the exercises if you want to see any results.”

“Yeah, I don’t think I’m going to do them again – I don’t want my boobs to shrink.”

I laughed out loud before I realized she was serious!

“Why do you think your boobs will shrink?” I asked.

“That’s what I’ve heard happens when you lift weights.”

Huh?!? Not only was she NOT lifting weights, but she was freaking herself out after doing ONE exercise. Yikes! I’ve been lifting weights for about ten years and my bra size has never changed.

I sighed. “That won’t happen, I promise.” She opened her mouth to protest, but I cut her off. “Look, women tend to gain weight and lose weight where extra fat is stored. Sometimes women who lose a lot of weight will also see their breasts reduced because of the excess fat that’s being stored there. You don’t have weight to lose and since you’re just toning your muscles your boobs won’t get smaller.”

“Oh.” Then she brightened as it sunk in. “Ok! That’s cool that I was actually sore from those exercises then!”

I smiled.

Then she added, “I can’t wait to get my arms toned for my brother’s wedding next month!”

I groaned.

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

