Booking It

  I’m reading a really good book right now called Split. It’s about a teenaged boy who comes from a home of domestic violence. The book takes its readers through his journey as he deals with his family and especially his tendencies toward becoming just like his father. As he learns to deal with his anger, he learns how to use running to pour out all the rage and channel it through his feet pounding the pavement.

I think one of the reasons I love running so much is because it’s so similar to getting lost in a good book….wait, wait, hear me out! When I read I forget everything else and drift off beyond my stresses even if it’s for a little while. I’m sure it’s the same for many readers. The allure of the escape. Well, for me running takes it one step further. The physical act of sweating and beating my body (not to be too dramatic or anything…) into doing what I want it to do, to cover those miles and come out at the finish, exhausted but proud.

Running is my way of dealing with stress, of feeling great, and being proud of what I can accomplish even when it’s difficult. I can see why the protagonist of Split uses running to work through his anger. I love being a reader and I love being a runner and it’s fun when the two worlds collide.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

