Reflections

  Sunday is my birthday – woohoo! I’m super excited about it. I’m definitely not one of those people who shies away from birthdays or any mention of getting older. Ever since I was eight and my parents forgot it was my birthday I vowed to make sure everyone had advanced warning so they could properly prepare. These days though I don’t care about the gifts as much as I do about spending the days with my family and friends. 🙂

Birthdays, more than the advent of a new year, make me reflect on the past year and think about what’s coming up in the next. What have I accomplished? What did I do that really made me proud? What do I want to accomplish this next year? When my birthday rolls around next year, will I be proud of what I’ve done?

I try to live every day with no regrets, making it all add up to a year with no regrets. So it’s really a lot of moments of reflection leading up to a broad, sweeping reflection. And if I can honestly look back and say that I lived a life that was filled with love and kindness and passion and appreciation for all the good things I’ve been blessed with, then it’s been a great year.

Happy Birthday to me. 😀

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Happy Birthday!!! I hope you have a wonderful day on Sunday. 😀

  2. Happy birthday, Samantha!

  3. Happy Birthday! I totally agree with you, I don’t need gifts but do like to be with family/friends. I use my birthday as a start/finish line (but not in a competitive way). This year I knocked off a lot of life goals so I have been working on coming in up a few new ones (goals for me are mostly challenges/destinations these days).

  4. Happy Birthday Sami! You’ve got a wonderful outlook on birthdays (and life). Celebrate!

  5. Oh happy belated birthday! I hope you had an awesome one!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

