It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by the fabulous Sheila @ Book Journey. Need a good book to read this summer? Swing by check it out!

I spent the weekend with my family in PA celebrating both Father’s Day and my little bro’s birthday. I love getting to spend time with my nieces and nephews. They’re at just the right age where everything they say is hilarious. Very entertaining.

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

  Beauty Queens by Libba Bray – I love Libba Bray’s work. She’s snarky and witty and I enjoy every minute of her books. Beauty Queens is no exception. It took me a few chapters to get used to the tone of the book but once I did it made it easier to read. The crux of the book, at least from what I can tell being about 3/4 of the way through, is how women of all ages are made to feel as though they should act, think, and be a certain way in our society. But when a plane filled with beauty pageant contestants crashes on a supposedly deserted island, they begin to shed their societal confines and start making decisions for themselves instead of letting others decide for them. Another Libba Bray gem. 🙂

  Boy by Roald Dahl – Dahl is one of those authors that I read a lot of as a child (as all children should) and his books have lingered in my mind since. Boy is autobiographical and filled with great stories from Dahl’s youth. I’m listening to this book on CD and the narrator does a great job as well.

  Run! by Dean Karnazes – Karnazes is an ultramarathon runner. Ultra meaning anything over a marathon, but Karnazes takes it even further by running to his breaking point. He runs 100-milers without batting an eye. Someone called him to run 360 miles through the Australian outback and he jumped at the chance. He’s run through deserts and mountains, then throws his medals in a box in the garage. For him it’s about pushing his body and mind to the ultimate limits and seeing if he can make it to the finish line. His anecdotes are funny and inspirational and make for a quick read.

Don’t forget to enter the contest to get some great Clockwork Prince loot! Happy reading! 🙂

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Great picks! I love, love, love Dahl. I haven’t read BOY yet.

    Have a great weekend.

  2. I’ve been seeing Beauty Queens here and there…I’ll be watching for your review. Thanks for sharing…enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  3. Good list. I hope you enjoy the books.

    Have a nice week.

    Carla

  4. Just finished The Invisible Wall by Harry Bernstein and started The Luck of the Buttons (juv fic)by Anne Ylvisaker.

  5. Somehow or another I am going to find time this summer to read Beauty Queens.

  6. Have a fab week! See what I’m reading here and don’t forget to link your Outdoorsy book reviews on Read My Review, hosted on my blog.
    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

  7. I loved reading Roald Dahl books when I was a kid… I’m sure I’d still enjoy them now, too 🙂

  8. Run looks interesting-in an awesomely intimidating sorta way!

  9. I’ve listened to the first two CDs of Beauty Queen and it’s great! The audio is awesome. I’m excited to get back to it after I finish listening to Sidekicks by Jack Ferraiolo. I loved Boy! When you read about Dahl’s stories as a kid, it’s so easy to see where he gets so many of his ideas for his books. I love that. He seems like such a great person with so many interesting experiences. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

