Boston = Runner’s Mecca?

My girlfriend and I headed to the beautiful city of Boston for a wedding this weekend. Driving through the city to our hotel in Cambridge I noticed something odd. Everywhere we looked people were running. A lot of people. Big people. Small people. People in full running gear. People in T-shirts and soccer shorts. Old. Young. It didn’t seem to matter – everyone in Boston seemed to be running!

After pointing out the umpteenth person running through the streets, across the bridges, along the river, my girlfriend, “Okay, Sam. I see them. There are a lot of runners…” So maybe she didn’t share my awe and wonder at such an exciting spectacle, but that didn’t dull my enthusiasm.

At the hotel I noticed a map in the pile of welcome materials for guests. I pulled it out and looked at it. A gasp of delight escaped my lips. “Look at this! Look at this!” I ran over to my girlfriend and waved the paper in her face. She smiled patiently as I hurried to explain my new found treasure. “It’s a jogging map!” I breathed in reverence. I’d never seen a jogging map provided for hotel guests before. So cool.

What better way to get to know a city and mingle with the locals than to jog along the same paths they traverse every day? Feeling like a giddy kid I laced up my sneakers and went out on a running exploration of Boston.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. I haven’t heard of a jogging map before. Very cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

