It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Swing by and see what’s new!

I’ve been on a big graphic novel kick lately. Probably because of all the big superhero movies being released this summer. I’ve already seen Thor (loved it!) and am hoping to see X-Men: First Class this week. Green Lantern and Captain America are making their debuts in the coming months as well, so I’ve got my box of Junior Mints ready to go!

  Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?: Dust to Dust by Chris Roberson – While the illustrations and story were okay, I didn’t realize this was a later installment of an earlier graphic novel of the same title. It’s based on the book by Philip K. Dick which also was the inspiration for the movie Blade Runner. I like the concept of the graphic novel – robots who are built to serve man and subsequently turn against their creators – but since this was a later volume in the series, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I’m definitely going to find the first volume though!

 

 

  Gotham Central by Greg Rucka and Ed Brubaker – Sure Batman fights crime in Gotham City, a place filled with the most heinous villains around, but what about the fine policeman, detectives and other law enforcement agents who spend their days serving in the line of duty? This graphic novel takes a new perspective on the dark world that is Batman’s territory. And the gritty illustrations are a perfect match to the edgy plot.

 

 

 

  Green Lantern: Secret Origins by Geoff Johns – I always like to bone up on my superhero facts before the release of the movie. That way I can spew very fascinating facts to my less-than-impressed girlfriend. It’s sad, I know. Anyway, I really liked this graphic novel not so much for its unique story and illustrations (although both were done well), but because it gave a great background on how Green Lantern got to be the Green Lantern and the drama surrounding his creation. It made for a nice abridged version of a much longer saga.

 

 

  Monday Mourning by Kathy Reichs – I posted yesterday about what kind of books I like to bring with me to the beach and Reichs is at the top of the list. Fast-paced, edgy thrillers that I can speed through in a day. Perfect for lounging in the sun! I’ve never been disappointed by mysteries that the protagonist, Temperance Brennan, finds herself in or the ongoing romantic and personal relationships that surround her and this book is no different.

 

 

 

Happy reading! 😀

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Interesting picks. I read a graphic novel awhile ago (YA oriented). I’d like to read more.

    Have a great week.

  2. The books look intriguing…I must read something by Kathy Reichs!

    I like the new name and new look, with the bookish background. I completely understand about changing blog names, as I do it too. Instead of just adding a new blog (like I once did!).

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  3. I want to read that Kathy Reichs book… I think I have it….

  4. I’ll have to check out Chris Roberson’s graphic novel series.

    Summer school begins for me so my reading for fun will take second place to reading for homework. So my reading for fun will have to take second place to reading for school. Come see what I finished in my last week of vacation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

