It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

Another busy weekend for me! Got to spend time with my family in PA which I love. Sunday I went to hear editor and author, Lisa Pliscou speak at Mendham Books in Mendham, NJ. The first hour was discussion oriented with Lisa giving her insights in the writing/editing/publishing world and people asking her questions. The second hour Lisa devoted to the first five people who signed up for the class, critiquing work that they submitted previously by email. I submitted a couple chapters from the manuscript that I just finished. She had a lot of really great things to say which was really encouraging. YAY! It’s one thing to have your family tell you they like your work, it’s another to have a professional from the writing community tell you they like your work. 😀

Here are the great books I’m excited about now:

Lost & Found by Shaun Tan – I’m a big fan of Tan’s work. I had to own The Arrival because it was so, so beautifully illustrated. This latest compilation is of three stories, two of his own, that he illustrates. Once again his work is just breathtaking. I wish I could blow up the pages and stare at them, they’re that great. Even if you’re not a fan of graphic novels, this book is very short and worth checking out!

  The Liar Society by Lisa & Laura Roecker – While I only began this a couple days ago, I’m already impressed with the Roecker sisters’ writing style and the way they personalize their characters right from the beginning. Mystery surrounds the protagonist as well as angst between her and the other characters in the story as she is now a social pariah but hasn’t always been. I’m excited to keep reading! 🙂

Sapphique by Catherine Fisher – I just began this sequel to Incarceron on CD. If you haven’t heard the news, Taylor Lautner of Twilight fame, is going to star in the movie adaptation of Incarceron. When I told my sister this, she was very happy that I had recommended the book to her way before the huge fanfare starts – as I’m sure it will! If you’re not familiar with the series, it’s a great, unique concept about a world that’s laced with fantasy elements. At the center of the story is Incarceron, a living prison that thinks and plots against it’s doomed inmates. Nail-biting to the very end!

I’ll be sure to keep you posted on BEA in NYC that I’m attending this Wednesday – can’t wait! 🙂

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Lost & Found must go on my wishlist. I love his work!

    I finished ten books this week which actually surprises me because I hardly did any reading during my usual fun reading time. Come see what I finished.

  2. So jealous that you’re going to BEA! And I love the cover for The Liar Society.

    Please feel free to stop by my Monday 🙂

  3. So great that you got positive feedback on your writing! The Liar Society sounds fun!

  4. I can’t wait to read my copy of LIAR SOCIETY.

    I’m reading several books right now, and one of them is THE DEATHDAY LETTER by Shaun Hutchinson.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

