It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

This weekend was fun and busy, busy, busy. Friday night I got to go to the book launch for Popular, a new YA novel by Alissa Grosso. The event was held at the Clinton Book Shop in Clinton, NJ, a small independent bookstore that was adorable. The owners were well prepared with lots of copies of Alissa’s book, a table set up for the introduction and a table for refreshments. Fortunately the weather was nice because the store was packed with people clamoring for an autograph copy of the book. The owner of the store said, when he introduced Alissa, that they have bestselling authors there with only seven people who show up and there were easily 70 there that night! I hope that’s my biggest problem when I get to that point in my writing career! πŸ™‚

Saturday I spent the day in NYC with my gf’s family. We went to Central Park Zoo where we saw a lot of cuteness (especially the sea lions – what showoffs!), then to lunch at Candle Cafe (a delicious vegan restaurant that even our meat-eating family raved about afterwards). We finished with a visit to the Guggenheim where we got to see interactive public art and a great exhibit on Modern Art from 1910-1918 (my fav – no sarcasm, I really do love that art era).

Then…as if that weren’t enough excitement….Sunday, I ran a half-marathon relay with my girlfriend. It was called the Superhero Half Marathon and Relay and it supported the Christopher Reeve’s Foundation. It was an absolutely beautiful course through mostly flat neighborhoods and wooded trails. The race was very well organized and the technical shirts we got were great! Many people were in costumes which made for great viewing enjoyment. Definitely one of the best races I’ve had the pleasure of running! πŸ˜€

In other news, I’ve been reading some great books too:

Β  2011 Social Media Directory by Jeffery A. Riley – A great compilation of more than 3,000 listings of social networking and other helpful resources. They have been divided into categories to make finding whatΒ  you’re looking for easier – Family/Parenting, Travel, Sports, Health, etc. I found a lot of sites that I hadn’t heard of before like Project Gutenberg which allows you to download more than 25,000 free ebooks, created by volunteers.

Β  Power Foods from the editors at Whole Living Magazine – While I don’t buy into every latest trend and craze in the food/diet world, I do believe that certain foods are healthier for you than others. This book compiles a list of some of these healthy foods and fills its pages with recipes using these foods. I know a cookbook is good when I drool over every recipe I come across. This might be one cookbook I end up buying!

Β  Popular by Alissa Grosso –Β  I’m loving this book! The story centers around the popular clique of girls at Fidelity High with each chapter written from the viewpoint of a different girl in the clique. Although I’m only about a third of the way through, there’s already intrigue and mystery that makes me eager to read more! πŸ™‚

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. I’ve never been to a book launch (nobody launches their book near where I live! How unfair!) but sounds exciting πŸ˜€ also very impressed you ran a marathon (even if it was half), wow. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve been to book signings and to BEA in LA…so a book launch is something I’d like to enjoy someday.

    Popular sounds like an intriguing book.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. I love the sound of Popular, the different viewpoints sounds very interesting πŸ™‚

    I haven’t ever been to NYC, but every time I hear about it, I want to go! The zoo sounds like a lot of fun.

  4. The Social Network book sounds interesting! Have a super week and hope to catch up with you at BEA!

  5. This week I finished up the manga I had on hand. I typically read an issue over my morning cup of coffee. Come see what I’m reading this week.

  6. I finished POPULAR this weekend. It’s amazing!

    I’m halfway through DIVERGENT.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

