It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Want a good book to read? Stop by and see what’s new in the world of literature!

Happy Mother’s Day to all you moms! I hope you had a great day yesterday filled with family and love and lots of chocolate. 🙂

I have a lot of great books that I’m reading, here’s what’s new:

  The Faculty Club by Danny Tobey – An ivy league school, a dark secret club, a straight-edge student and a perfect love. While I do love intrigue surrounding elitist clubs with spoiled rich protagonists, this novel does seem to have promise and was recommended to me by my mystery-loving father.  Although I just started it, Tobey promises layers of suspense that will keep the pages turning well into the night.  🙂

  White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean – I’m listening to this book on CD and while I’m not in love with the narrator’s voice, I am thoroughly enjoying the story. I mentioned last week how much I love Printz Award winners and honorees and so far this is no exception. There is most definitely something deeper going on that the reader is not privy to in the beginning of this novel (I’m surmising, I don’t actually know yet) which the protagonist deals with by having deep chats with someone in her head. One of the commonalities that Printz recipients share is the author’s look beyond the surface and into the inner workings of the teenage mind and psyche. They tend toward the darker side of YA lit but in a way that makes me think and stays with me long after I turn the last page.

De:Tales by Fabio Moon and Gabrel Ba – This is an early graphic novel by Brazilian twins Moon and Ba. It is well illustrated and interesting, although definitely a stepping stone to their marvelous newer graphic novel Daytripper.

Exciting for the coming week and a race next Sunday. Enjoy the warm weather and good reads! 🙂

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. The Faculty Club looks intriguing….hope you enjoy all of your books.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. I think the Faculty Club sounds good too. Have a great week.

  3. I read the White Darkness a few years ago and LOVED it! This was back when I worked at the library, so of course I recommended it to a lot folks as well. The Faculty Club sounds like it would be good.

    My reading has been pretty limited lately, but my to-read list is growing at an alarming rate.

  4. I’ve meant to read the Faculty Club forever and still haven’t gotten around to it! So happy you reminded me of it. Happy running & reading 🙂

  5. Oh! The Faculty Club looks quite good! Hope you have a fabulous reading week and if you get a second stop my to see what I’ve been reading at There’s A Book! 🙂

  6. I’ll have to check out Tales if I can find a copy. My list this week is inflated with picture books that I read with my daughter and manga that I read over my morning coffee. Come see what I’m reading this week.

  7. The Faculty Club sounds great! Enjoy your books.

  8. I like the sound of The Faculty Club. Happy reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

