It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by the wonderful Sheila @ Book Journey. Check it out!

I’m still working on the two blog posts I promised over a week ago (yikes!), but have been preoccupied by finishing the final revision of my second novel. Now it is ready to be released into the wild, ie. agent world. I’ll keep you all posted on how that progresses. 🙂

In other news my girlfriend and I rode in the Five Boro Bike Tour that took place in NYC yesterday. It was a 42-mile ride up through Manhattan, Central Park, into the Bronx, then down through Brooklyn and into Staten Island and covering five different boroughs of the city. The weather was gorgeous! And the only sore part of my body is my poor sunburned nose because I didn’t think to reapply my sunscreen. 😦 There were 32,000 riders and they shut down complete streets to host the event. It was a memorable, incredible experience!

That last one is me enjoying the best pb & j sandwich I’ve ever had by the Brooklyn Bridge. 🙂

And here’s what I’ve been reading:

  Bossypants by Tina Fey – I loved this book. I enjoy reading memoirs and this is the best one I’ve read in a while. Fey is candid without over sharing or being self-indulgent and I really appreciated reading her viewpoints about her life as an actor, writer and comedian. I’m even going to listen to her book on CD when it comes into the library just to hear how she meant the book to be read – something I’ve never done before. 🙂

  Daytripper by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba – I knew I was in for a good graphic novel when many of my favorite artists/writers had their praises written on the cover.  I have definitely not be disappointed! Brazilian twins, Moon and Ba, have penned one of the most brilliantly written and illustrated graphic novels I’ve read in a long time. I’ve heard people scoff at the concept of graphic novels, mostly because they view them as juvenile or for grown men still living in their parents’ basement, but to marry beautiful art and depth of writing is a talent not to be overlooked. I highly recommend Daytripper as each chapter explores different ages of the protagonist’s life and how each vein unravels at the end of the chapter culminating in his death. This concept is pushed even further as the protagonist is constantly surrounded by death as he is an obituary writer who dreams of becoming a renown novelist like his father.

  Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond – I just started reading this book on CD and so far it’s….intriguing. I picked it up because I really enjoy reading Printz Award winners. There’s a commonality between the books in that they are uncommon books. Books like Monster by Walter Dean Meyers and Monstrumologist by Rich Yancey and Going Bovine by Libba Bray have been past honorees. They are YA and MG novels that tell stories no else has told. Seems simple enough, but I’m always amazed at how many books of a similar vein there are circulating at any given time. And the novels tend to be dark, which I also like, although not all the time.

That’s it for me, what have you been reading?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. The bike looks amazing. Are you a triathlete? I see running and biking.

    I’ve been reading Tina Fey’s articles in the New Yorker, and I bet she’d be interesting at book length as well. That’s a good idea about the audio book for her.

    • I’d like to do a tri sometime, but haven’t gotten into swimming too much yet. If you like Fey’s articles, I think you’d definitely like her book!

  2. I’m on the waiting list at the library for Bossypants! I can’t wait to read that book!

    The bike ride looks awesome! I’m afraid of city bike riding (crazy drivers and what not) but I would so ride if the streets were shut down.

  3. Oh, what a great ride that must have been! Sounds wonderful.

    Great photos, too.

    Bossy Pants is one I’ve added to my wish list.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Great pictures! In my area I see groups of bike riders crossing the causeways and it looks like fun.

    I’m reading DIVERGENT.

  5. Wow, the bike tour sounds amazing! I would have loved to be a part of it, but I’m 8 hours south. Great pics!

    • Thanks, Aths! It was a lot of fun and I think they have them all over if you wanted to try to enter one. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

