1,000 books

  I have this spiral bound notebook. It has fluffy white kittens and bright happy colors. Best part? The notebook paper is eggshell blue. Awesome. Try not to be jealous, I know, it’s tough…The reason I mention this classy notebook is that ever since seventh grade I’ve been recorded every book I’ve read in it. If it was longer than fifty pages, it went into the book.

This is the information that went into my book ledger: Title, # of pages, and how I liked it. In the past few years I started to record the date I finished the book as well. This is especially helpful when I wanted to know when I read a particular book.

I love setting new goals for myself and since I’m turning 32 this July I wanted to read 1,000 books before my birthday. That would be 1,000 books in twenty years as I’ve been recording my books since I was 12. I read a lot of books before then too, but I don’t count those.

And today, drum roll please, I finished my 1,000th book! Hooray! πŸ˜€

I feel really proud of this and am thrilled with reaching my goal – and it’s only April! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard someone say, “I wish I kept a list of the books I read…” And every time I hear that I give my 12-year-old self a pat on the back. πŸ™‚

Happy reading my friends!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

    • jgavinallan
    • April 21st, 2011

    Hi:
    The site is nice and friendly. Very warm feeling of welcome.
    jgavinallan.wordpress.com

    I would love to have your opinion on my writings.

    I trust the taste of librarians.

    Really, May is pivotal month for my career. Any help is welcomed.

    J—Jaye

  1. Congratulations! Also, I’m a bit jealous of the fact that you started your list back in seventh grade. I’ve only been keeping my list since Christmas of 2002.

    • Thanks, Alissa! I’ve always been thankful that I had the wherewithal to keep track of my books back then. Cool that you have a list though, that’s still 9 years now! πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations you. I kind of use my blog for that now and even then I forget to write posts for all the books I’ve read. You’re an inspiration to be more proactive!

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Siobhan! πŸ™‚ It’s always fun to read what others are reading, so I hope you keep with it!

  3. Now that’s dedication to recordkeeping. I would have lost the notebook by now for sure! LOL

    Congrats on number 1000

    • Thanks, Heather! I can’t believe I still have the notebook either! πŸ™‚

    • shahujvaln
    • March 19th, 2012

    Wow.. That’s Amazing.. I started it very lately in 2007 or later… This post encouraged me to read more books..

    I read most of your post of “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?”.. Feeling nice after reading your blog…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

