It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila over @ Book Journey. Stop by! πŸ™‚

I had a fabulous weekend. Went with some friends to check out a roller derby bout (more on this in a later post) on Saturday then ran a 5k (more on this later too) with my girlfriend and about three hundred other folks on Sunday. It was windy run which made it tough, but it was a lot of fun! The event supported the Matheny Medical and Educational Center which helps children and adults with severe and complex disabilities. I’ll go into more detail in a subsequent post, but it is a really cool organization and I was happy for the chance to support them.

As for reading, here’s what I’ve been up to:

Β  The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan – This is the third and final novel in Ryan’s Forest of Hands and Teeth series. If you haven’t read this series, go read it! Set in a post-apocalyptic world where zombies have taken over, the protagonists fight for their survival against all odds. While this may sound similar to other zombiesque stories, Ryan’s writing is brilliant, her characters flawed and intriguing, and her twists surprising. As eager as I am to continue reading, I’m sad that the series is coming to an end.

Still listening to:

Β  Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly – Still an amazing story, but if I were to do it over, I’d probably read it instead of listening to it. The faux-French accents with American English undertones aren’t really working for me. πŸ™‚

Slow week for me, but looking forward to new books this coming week! How about you? What have you been reading?

  1. The voice is so important with an audio book, it can make or break the experience. I will have to look at Revolution, sounds interesting.

    Have a great week!

    ps: I hope to find the Boston Marathon on TV today. I love watching these runs… so motivating!

    • I didn’t know that the Boston Marathon was televised! Very cool. They are motivating – hope you find it!

  2. If the voice is annoying I just can’t get through an audiobook.

    • Me neither! I’ve had to stop listening to a couple where the voice was just too irritating to listen to.

  3. I don’t like audio books for a number of reasons…I’m visual, etc. But the main thing is not being able to “turn back pages” and search for little details. Sometimes I have to do that.

    I might try it some time for a short book on a long trip…LOL

    Have a great week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    • That’s a really good point. I’ve found myself wanting to go back and check on a name or a place or some other detail, but can’t and that is frustrating. Hopefully the book on cd you finally listen to is a good one!

  4. A roller derby? wow! So interested! I like the sound of revolution.

    • Sheila, it was definitely something to remember! Those women don’t seem afraid of anything – very fun. πŸ™‚

  5. I have Revolution and I plan on reading Ryan’s other zombie books after reading The Forest of Hands and Teeth.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

