It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Stop by and tell us about all the great books you’ve been reading!

This weekend was another busy one with a birthday party, dinner with friends, shopping, running, dog walking, rock climbing and bike riding. Everything was a lot of fun and the weather was beautiful! Spring is in the air. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend as well, here’s what I’ve been reading:

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson – I’ve always heard good things about this book and have wanted to read it for a while now. So far it’s great. Rich in history and information. Larson pieces the events from the Chicago World’s Fair together in such an eloquent way that it reads more as fiction than non-fiction. The other piece of the story is about a serial killer that rocked America. Before then Americans had mostly heard about Jack the Ripper in London, never dreaming that such atrocities could occur in their backyards. This book should be a definite on your must read list!

 

 

 

Scary Godmother by Jill Thompson – While this compilation of Scary Godmother comics is labeled as a juvenile comic, this hard cover tome is so chock full of elaborately beautiful illustrations, colorful characters, and magical stories that a reader of any age will enjoy this graphic novel. This is the type of book that I will have to own because Thompson’s world is filled with a perfect mix of wonderment and imagination that I know I’ll want to read it again and again.

 

 

 

You Know When the Men Are Gone by Siobhan Fallon – While this is a work of fiction, Fallon speaks from a place she knows. As an army wife who spent time stationed at Ford Hood, Texas, while her husband completed two tours in Iraq, Fallon knows what it’s like for those who stay behind. This book especially intrigued me as I’m currently hooked on the Army Wives series. I’m only on season 2, but am loving the perspective of what it’s like for those who live on an army base every day. The series, like this book, is fictional, but I’m sure mirrors the truth to some extent. Both are new and interesting perspectives that I’ve never thought about before, which always makes for enjoyable reading (and watching).

 

 

That’s about it for me. What about you? What have you been reading?

 

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

  1. Your book “You Know When the Men are Gone” sounds like one I’d enjoy. I, too, am hooked on “Army Wives,” which reminds me that last night’s episode is still waiting for me….

    Have a great reading week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. Scary Godmother looks funny! I hope you have a great reading week… I am hopeful that this week the sun will come out here and I can get biking! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I always recommend people read Devil in the White City before coming to visit me in Chicago. It helps put the city in context. Hope you enjoy it. I heard Leonardo DiCaprio is going to star in the movie adaptation.

  4. I enjoyed The Devil in the White City as well. As for what I’ve read recently, not too much since I too have been super crazy busy, but I did manage to listen to Zombies vs. Unicorns in the car while driving around, and really enjoyed it.

  5. I still have to read Devil in the White City! Ah, so many books on the list.

    Have fun reading this week!

  6. The Devil in the White City sounds like a great read, certainly one I’d enjoy, thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. It was a beautiful weekend in NYC this weekend. We had a BBQ Sat night, made my day!

    I’m heading out for an evening run in a few minutes. I think we have rain in the forecast….

  8. These all sound very good.

  9. I’m reading Thirteen Reasons Why and Dirty Little Secrets.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

