It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by the marvelous Sheila @ Book Journey – check it out!

What a wonderful, wonderful weekend! The weather was gorgeous and I took full advantage – running, disc golfing (one of my all-time favorite warm weather activities), and plenty of dog-walking. 🙂 And, as I’m getting over a cold, being outside made me feel a whole lot better. Also, my girlfriend went snowboarding in VT with some friends of ours and although I couldn’t go because of work, it did give me a ton of time to work on finished up revisions on my novel. Only one more read-through and it’s ready to go out into the world of agents – yay!

I hope your weekend was as great as mine was! Here’s what I’ve been reading:

A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley – Would it be profane to compare another mystery writer to Agatha Christie? And yet every time I read Bradley’s books I can’t help myself. While the similarities seem to begin and end with the English setting, Bradley has such an amazing way of crafting words I’m reminded of Christie’s works. Needless to say, I love Bradley’s mysteries. I want to devour and savor them at the same time. His latest is no different and I’m already looking forward to his next.

So Yesterday by Scott Westerfeld – What if it was your job to define cool? What if nothing went onto billboards or into commercials without your approval? So sets the scene for Westerfeld’s novel about why some things are cool while others are not. Part mystery, part social commentary, Westerfeld makes his reader think and question what our consumer society.

Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke – This is a juvenile graphic novel filled with lively, colorful drawings and a fun story. I love the quote that opens Zita’s adventures: “There are two ways of getting home; and one of them is to stay there. The other is to walk round the whole world till we come back to the same place.” G.K. Chesterton. When Zita finds a strange object inside what appears to be a meteor and her friend gets sucked into outer space, she decides to go after him. Thus begins the Zita’s journey through space.

What have you been reading this week?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

  1. I so want to read A Red Herring Without Mustard! I’ve read The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag, but not The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, so I want to read that first (out of order, I know!).

  2. I’ve never seen that Scott Westerfeld novel before…I know, I’ve been under a rock! LOL I may have to check it out! Also, I’m really interested in your graphic novel you posted about, sounds interesting!

    Have a fabulous reading week and if you get a second stop by There’s A Book to see what we’re reading this week! 🙂

  3. Fun looking books! I think comparing an author to Agatha Christie is a huge compliment to that author 🙂

  4. I’m reading Holly Schindler’s PLAYING HURT.

  5. I need to read A Red Herring Without Mustard. I’ve read the others in the series. The Westerfield book sounds good too. Have a great week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

