It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is brought to you by Sheila @ Book Journey. Need to find a good book to read? Check out what these book bloggers are saying!

Had a another wonderful visit to NYC this past Saturday. The weather was mild and made for great wandering. My girlfriend and I window shopped on Fifth Ave then ate at 5 Napkin Burger (kind of funny since we’re both vegetarian) and had the best veggie burgers we’ve ever had! I highly recommend it. There was a great beer/wine list, the food was amazing and the ambiance unique and relaxed. After that we strolled around the Theatre District and grabbed some espresso before walking to the Belasco Theatre to see Kathy Griffin’s new comedy show. I think she’s hilarious and she didn’t disappoint. Her act is incredible as it’s basically a stream of consciousness where no topic is off-limits, especially her mom and celebrities. And the theatre was old and beautiful and managed to be huge and intimate all at the same time.  The whole night was so much fun! 😀

Oh, yeah, I’ve been reading some too – here’s what I’m reading:

Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult – Picoult’s latest attacks yet another relevant hot topic in our society today. What defines a family? Married and unable to carry a baby to term, all Zoe wants is a family of her own. Her definition of how this looks changes when her husband divorces her, she falls in love and remarries a woman. The validity of this new family and her right to have her partner carry her embryo from her previous relationship is called into question by her ex-husband and the conservative church he now belongs to. Picoult’s writing always pulls me in as I find myself relating to all her characters and their struggles. They are made even more real through Picoult’s style of telling the story from each main character’s perspective.

Front and Center by Catherine Gilbert Murdock – The third and final installment in the trilogy that started with The Dairy Queen follows protagonist D.J. as she is faced with difficult life decisions involving her college career as a basketball player, growing closer to her family and the boys that she loves. D.J. is such a great character. Her flaws are tempered with her big heart and her desire to be a better person in all aspects of life. I’ll be sad when the series is over.

How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less by Sarah Glidden – After reading the Burma Chronicles, I decided to journey to Israel to learn more about the culture there. Glidden presents her graphic memoir/travelogue in bright watercolors and fresh drawings. Another great book to open my mind to other worlds and different cultures.

That’s all for me this week. What have you been reading?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

  1. I was in the city on Saturday too! It was a beautiful day for walking and shopping. Glad you enjoyed Kathy’s show, she is funny and you’re right… no topic is off limits with her. 🙂

    I haven’t read Picoult in years but do love her writing. She’s amazing.She really researchs quite a bit for each novel.

    Have a great week!

  2. I’m looking forward to reading the Picoult book. Have a long layover today. Maybe I’ll pick it up.

  3. I ate at Five Napkin Burger when I was in New York! 🙂 I have the Piccoult book and need to get to that one soon!

  4. 5 Napkin Burger – well the Veggie Burger part sounds good! Oh, and the books sound good as well, but my to-read list is growing at an alarming rate. I’ve been listening to and enjoying Swamplandia in the car and recently read a fun YA, The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder.

  5. I got Sing You Home last week…can’t wait to read it!

    Hope you enjoy your reading….

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  6. Your NYC visit sounds divine! Sing You Home is next on my list. I love her books and I am looking forward to reading it soon. Have a good week.

  7. Thank you for visting my blog! Those books look really good. Hope you have a wonderful week!

  8. I’m reading Burned by Ellen Hopkins. I’ve read most of her books.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

