It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Stop by and check out the latest in reading recommendations!

This weekend I visited the Travel Expo in NYC with my girlfriend. It was great! Stop by tomorrow to read about our adventures. 🙂

Still working on Delirium, but here are the newest additions to my reading list:

Burma Chronicles by Guy Delisle – A wonderful graphic novel filled with whimsical drawings and interesting insights into the Burma culture. This is one of several travelogues that Delisle writes and illustrates wherever he lives. This most recent graphic novel is based on his stay in Burma during his wife’s stint there as a member of Doctors Without Borders. I love reading graphic novels about different cultures and countries and Delisle has created a perfect balance between entertaining stories and the stark reality of life in Burma.

 

 

The Off Season by Catherine Gilbert Murdock – I just loved Murdock’s first book in the series, Dairy Queen, so much that as soon as I finished listening to it I started the second. The same woman narrates the audio book and she does a great job. A great follow up to the first and I’ve already checked out the third and final book in the series. 🙂

 

 

 

Soul Pancake by Rainn Wilson – If you’re like me, you’ll look at the author of this book (Dwight from The Office) and its subject and think it’ll all be tongue-in-cheek comments on life. But when I opened the book and browsed its pages, there was a lot more depth than I expected. Sure there’s a whimsical nature to the book, but it’s also about making people think through art, through analytical questions, and through networking. Yup, networking. There’s a Soul Pancake website where you can connect with other creative souls. It’s like an online appendage to the book, like an author’s blog or website but centered around communities and not Rainn Wilson. Definitely worth checking out.

 

 

That wraps it up for me, but how about you? What have you been reading?

  1. Oh, Off Season looks good…and I have seen Dairy Queen around…I need to check these out!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. Burma Chronicles sounds good. I got some more fun reading done last week. Next week will involve a lot of K to 3 books. Come see what I’m reading now.

  3. My reading is all over the place. I’m reading two ARCs, two print books, and several ebooks.

    I’m finally reading On the Jellicoe Road.

  4. The Off Season looks good. I’m always on the hunt for a new series.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

